We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe this is a Viceroy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Central Park New York
Ranked #207 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I travel to NYC every week and have stayed at 50+ different hotels. Room was tiny, it took more than 5 minutes to get an elevator. (more than 20 floor with 2 elevators). Gym stinks. But why I really wrote this review is they put boom boxes in every room and someone had it turned way up.
It took security 30 min to get them to turn it down. This is not a business hotel if you have a meeting the next day. I would rank this as an average 3+ star condo hotel in the New York market.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear tom w,

Thank you for your review .

I am sorry that you did not like your experience at Viceroy New York.

While we do occasionally have noise issues we rarely have complaints caused by the Beats by Dr Dre speaker - I am sorry that the actions of another guest marred the enjoyment of your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My stay at the Viceroy New York was wonderful -- consistent with my stays at other Viceroy properties. It's very conveniently located on 57th Street, just a block from Central Park, and two blocks to either the Time Warner center at Columbus Circle or the shops at Fifth Avenue. Several subway lines are within two blocks as well.

The hotel is beautiful and in new condition. My room was quite large, even for New York, with a small terrace. Amenities were wonderful: in room espresso maker, a smartphone in-room to control everything including the TV, a beautiful tile shower with rain shower head. They also have a decent gym with free weights, recumbent bikes, treadmills and cross-trainers. And, a beautiful indoor pool.

If you're a business traveler, they have free wifi and a nice (if small) desk, in case you need to do any work while you're there.

I got excellent service at checkin. The gentleman working at the front desk was very friendly, sincere, and got me through the process and into my room quickly.

Overall, this is a great modern hotel that's incredibly well-located in Midtown. Definitely check out the Viceroy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netwerqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear netwerqq,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our Hotel.

I am pleased that you were happy with the service you received from our Front Desk team, the gym, the Illy Coffee machines, the design of our rooms and of course our location.

These are all very important considerations for people choosing a Hotel in NYC and your review will be of great assistance to other travelers searching for a comfortable hotel in New York.

We are delighted that we are your 'new go to favourite' in NYC , and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel in a good central location. The Penthouse was stunning, staff was amazing. Good job The Viceroy. Food was very good but pricey, was a wonderful diversion from the hustle and bustle of New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tottenhamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Tottenhamtraveller,

Thank you for your review of Viceroy New York.

I am pleased that you liked so many of the features of our Hotel : Location , Food ,Our colleagues

This information will assist other travelers make an informed choice about a great Hotel to stay in in New York City.

We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From top to bottom and front to back this was my most enjoyable stay in NYC ever and it all had to do with The Viceroy. From the friendly staff (especially Chris C. The Concierge) and the amenities, to the rooftop and the lap pool, I was definitely living large. If you are on the fence about staying here you would be best served to jump off and make The Viceroy happen!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear KyleF,

We were delighted to read your review - thank you for taking the time,

I am delighted to hear that Chris our Concierge was able to assist you so well in enjoying 'one of the greatest cities in the world'.

Sounds like you made the most of your stay and got the best out of the city and the Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location, great rooms, the diner attached via the hotel serves a great breakfast and is a regular hotspot for local business professionals to wind down midweek. This hotel has a great vibe and the roof top bar is worth spending a pre-dinner drink in before you venture out. The staff are very professional and the bell boys - Raymond, Robert and Raphael are not only very courteous and helpful but very engaging and attentive also; a credit to the Viceroy and it's ethos in looking after the tourist or the travelling business professional. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in NYC and if you are looking to be near Times Square, the Theatre district or Central Park,

Room Tip: We stayed on the 16th floor so noise was not an issue from the busy street outside. Very quick eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear AndyM,


Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Viceroy New York.

We were delighted to read about the positive engagements that you had with our Bell/Door team and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to Raymond , Robert and Raphael.

I am glad that you tried so many of our facilities like Kingside Restaurant and The Roof on the 29th floor where you can enjoy a cocktail with wonderful views of Central Park.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location, location plus an outstanding front staff w/an incredible team of concierges. Though only had time for a three day stay, I began to think of this team as my "friends"! These people know NYC!!!Thank you Jeannie and Dana for all your excellent advise and suggestions. Dealing w/the interests of two generations is not easy yet you made both sets happy! Going way past the normal responses, Jeannie ran out to help the bellhop catch a taxi during the late afternoon off hour so we could make our early dinner reservation before a show! Dana found our leftover sweaters and shipped them to our home w/out a charge!
The roof top location for a drink is perfect after a long day of being a tourist. What an amazing view! Yes, room is NYC small and some work needs to be done on the make up mirror which is too high, but overall very nice and sleek. Getting a great rate made it even better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Iris50,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Viceroy New York.

We were delighted to read about the positive engagements that you had with our Concierge and front of House team and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to them - I am delighted that they were able to find solutions for all your party.

There are some items in the design of the room that we are seeking to correct , the height of the make up mirror being one - we will certainly try and address this in time,

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really like this hotel. The only drawback I could say is that their standard rooms are very small.

The staff is 5 star and very helpful with anything you need. The Bellman and even the bartenders are friendly and attentive.

The rooms are a tight squeeze. If you are traveling alone, you should be okay. If you are a couple, you will get closer than usual. It's a room to sleep in and not much else. The suites are great and spacious though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobemargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDenneny, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Sobemargie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Viceroy New York.

We were very pleased to hear how much you liked our Hotel.

Thank you for your compliments about our '5 star' team .

We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,853 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,371 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#259 of 469 in New York City
5,585 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#189 of 469 in New York City
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Central Park New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Central Park New York

Address: 120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £216 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Central Park New York 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breaking the mold of midtown properties, Viceroy New York has the feel of a downtown hotel with the sophistication of its uptown counterparts. The striking double-height lobby, glamorous public spaces and guest room accommodations will feature a transformative décor that incorporates the city’s lifeblood through the strong, timeless, tailored style. Boasting 240 luxury guestrooms, many of which will have inspirational views of Central Park, the hotel's signature bespoke design details include elegant black muntined windows and original brass and aluminum light fixtures.Viceroy New York occupies one of the most energetic locations in Manhattan; the fusion of business and leisure on West 57th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues. The Roman and Williams designed façade of the hotel stands apart from its traditional neighbors with a distinctive appearance that creatively blends classic modern elements with bold, traditional rhythms in a disciplined grid of black brick and steel.Viceroy New York’s unparalleled amenities and culinary program will pulsate throughout the 29 stories, featuring The Roof, a paramount rooftop lounge in addition to Kingside, a signature restaurant located off the lobby and fronting 57th Street. Helmed by celebrity chef Marc Murphy, Kingside features a small plates menu of New American cuisine and sets the standard for quality dining and exceptional service in a buzzing, vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Central Park New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing