We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fulfilled expectations”
Review of Annisa

Annisa
Reserve with OpenTable
Annisa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,268 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: West 4th and 7th Avenue South
Transit: 1 Train to Christopher Street/Sheridan Square, B/D/F/M or A/C/E to West 4th Street.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fulfilled expectations”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I have been trying to get here for three years but the schedule never worked out. I was very pleased with what I found. Great service, lovely quiet room very conducive to good dining. Ordered the 5-course prix fixe dinner. Included an amuse bouche and a little tray of miniature after-dinner treats. Server recommended a very nice wine to compliment the meal. Not break-the-bank expensive; well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Gana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    49
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had a lovely dinner at Annisa. The restaurant is warm and cosy. The staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful and attentive, without being pushy or obtrusive. And the food was delicious. The soup dumplings were phenomenal. The pork and the sable were both sumptuous. And desserts were delightful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WOHM3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good but no fireworks”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First the good parts: service was excellent, the setting comfortable, the whole atmosphere very welcoming.

Now for the food, well, it was ok, but nothing spectacular, textures are interesting where there is a contrast between crunchy, soft and foamy elements on a plate but the flavors are very monolithic and bland. The soup dumplings are good but so are most soup dumplings in Chinatown, the hearts of palm salad lacks flavor, the dressing could use some punch, the lobster was a masterpiece of different textures but the flavor profile was just not there and the rabbit was overcooked, its main enhancing flavor was a little tartness from the yogurt/labne paste and 3 pomegranate seeds.

The wines by the glass were similar to the dishes, monolithic and lacking in complexity. Pinot Meunier? Now that should be a blending grape in a Champagne, on its own it just tastes like slightly alcoholic thinned grape juice, the white Rhone lacked acidity and was flabby. The sommelier would have been better served by recommending pedestrian Pinot Noir and Chablis instead of these wines.

The cheese course was good but at $21 for seven small slices, not a grand bargain. The yogurt panna cotta again had an appealing tartness but its flavors were unbalanced.

There are far better restaurant choices in NYC in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jal0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This small restaurant in the West Village is really first class. The food is innovative and delicious. My husband enjoyed black bass sashimi followed by a delicately flavored trout with mushrooms, artichoke hearts and camomile. I loved the palm hearts and lily root, which was surprisingly spicy and wonderful, followed by Spanish mackerel which was also hot and spicy, but in a different way. Service is friendly, and the wine is sensibly priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DW1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exquisite, excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We chose the Chef's Five Course Tasting Meal and left ourselves in the capable hands of chef Anita Lo and followed our server's suggestions for a couple wine pairing suggestions. Our high expectations were completely met and we had a truly wonderful evening. The restaurant provides an intimate and quiet setting, making for easy conversation between courses. Courses ranged from raw sea bass with trout roe, to a foie-gras draped dumpling, to spanish mackerel with "garlic-fried milk" (!) to lamb loin with cumin flavored black chick peas, amongst many other innovative garnishings and flavors. A really wonderful and delicious evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_in_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annisa also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Annisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing