We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream, really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cones

Cones
Ranked #126 of 441 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West Village
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Fell in by accident after dinner at AOC down the street. The white chocolate was unlike any I have ever had, as was the dulce de leche with chips. They have sorbet, they have unique but not bizarre flavors, (well, maybe the flavor made with Johnnie Walker Black is a little over the top).

Go here, and check out the cannolis at Rocco's up the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlo3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Variety of good icecreams!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

we accidently stepped into this place as we were exploring the greenwich village. but what a pleasant surprise it was. alot of their flavors taste yemmy! but my fav was tiramisu and pistachio ! if your in the neighborhood! do try it !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReYo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top notch ice cream, original flavors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I had a two scoop cup of dark chocolate and mascarpone. They had a good body to them and were very flavorful. They were pretty busy, which is always a good sign. I'd go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaleofGenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Feels so good it might be a sin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

It was hot and my wife was shopping on Bleecker. I was bored. Bored and hot. As she went to look at something of no interest to me, I saw Cones across the street, mocking me with its air conditioning and promise of frozen confections and slipped inside.

I ordered a cone of tutti frutti mascarpone ice cream and felt like I had just been entrusted with the eternal secret to happiness. As I walked down Bleecker and ate my ice cream, I couldn't believe the sheer number of people who were smiling but not eating this ice cream. They only thought they knew happiness.

As my wife reappropriated the cone, we found ourselves back in Cones within minutes, ordering another and sampling the various flavors.

Corn ice cream? It's surprisingly good.

Jack Daniels Ice Cream? The only ice cream that costs $1 to sample and double the price to buy, you can tell it is made with premium ingredients (i.e., whiskey). The only problem is that, unlike cooked sauces containing spirits, the alcohol is not burned off in the process.

We got drunk on ice cream.

We're going back. I'm surprised we left.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Nothing else beats it in the city. It's pricey and cash-only, but totally worth it. It's fun to try some of the unique flavors such as corn and pumpkin but the classics are delicious as well. My favorite is the pistachio. Pear sorbet is great and refreshing on a hot summer day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NutMeg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cones also viewed

 

Been to Cones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing