We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Lobster in Green Sauce, OLE!”
Review of El Quijote

El Quijote
Ranked #1,264 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spanish Lobster in Green Sauce, OLE!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My friend Gerry first introduced me to this Chelsea neighborhood establishment more than 20 years ago. Whenever I come to NYC, he tries to goad me into trying someplace new and trendy. So many new places to try in New York! I choose the kitschy deliciousness of El Quijote. Always crowded and lively, you come back for the delicious freshly cooked lobster in it's delectable sauce you want to smother yourself in, it is that good. The lobster is served in shell, but cut up into perfect bites so the sauce permeates the tender lobster. I also enjoyed their gazpacho, but it could have benefited from the addition of the traditional accompaniments. Troubadours dressed in Spanish costumes sing for their supper and badily ask for tips for their rendition of your favorite Spanish songs...so what if they are mostly Mexican songs? It is all fun and good food at El Quijote.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TundrainRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    106
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrific Spanish food in a remarkable atmosphere and ambience”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our first visit to El Quijoite although our host, our cousin, had been there many times. He recommended the paella which was perfectly delicious and such a huge portion that there were several meals to take home. He and I both ate the paella valenciana while my wife had the shrimp in green sauce (also gigantic) . The pitcher of red wine sangria was perfect and they claim to make it from a long standing "secret" recipe. Waiters are dressed up as they have always been (they say the place is "untouched by time"), attentive, and polite. Service is fast and excellent. Fill up a plate with shells and it is replaced with a clean one promptly. Your water glass is never empty, etc. The atmosphere is of an original NYC restaurant, the oldest Spanish restaurant in NYC located by the historic-registered Chelsea Hotel on 23rd Street. If you love Spanish food, it is a must-see experience. And the biggest surprise were the reasonable prices!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A gem in NYC, reasonably priced!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Visited the restaurant to meet friends. Portions are big, and reasonably priced. Two can eat for the price of one. All was delicious!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A food step back in time”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Travel back in time to a real dining experience --Old school waiters and service
excellent food and plenty of it --interesting mix of tourists and locals and remember turn cell phones off --Men remove your hats and New York dining the way it used to be!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myhatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge portions, average service”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I visited NYC for vacation in June, and while on a TV Movie Tour, the tour guide suggested El Quijote. We were dumbfounded at the amount of food we received! We visited around 3 PM, still eating off the lunch menu. My husband and I each got a separate dish, but we wish we would have just shared something (even sharing, there still would have been plenty leftover). Being on vacation, we just didn't have anywhere to keep leftovers. Four people could have eaten all the food included in the meal.

The prices were great, the food was great, but the service was a bit negligent after we were presented with our food. Maybe since it was a down time of the day all the employees were a little lax? We didn't get any refills after our meal was presented and it took at least 20 minutes after we finished eating to wave someone down to give us our check. There was no one in sight

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Quijote also viewed

 

Been to El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing