We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as the last time!”
Review of Indochine

Indochine
Reserve with OpenTable
Indochine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,172 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$45
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Astor Place and East 4th Street
Transit: 6 subway line to Astor Place.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just as good as the last time!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went to Indochine last Friday for dinner. We last visited six years ago and it was as fab as ever. It's a very popular restaurant (with many more locals than tourists which is always a good sign) and rightly so as the Vietnamese cuisine is delicious - the spring rolls took me right back to Hanoi, and the bouillabaisse was fantastic, with a very generous serving of jumbo shrimp, scallops etc in an Asian sauce. We had just arrived in NYC having spent the previous 12 hours travelling from Scotland so the jet lag kicked in and we didn't stay for dessert, but they looked delicious too! We were however able to sample a cocktail or too! The staff are as attractive as ever, and are both efficient and polite. The front of house manager sets the tone just right. All in a lovely dining experience. Looking forward to going back on our next trip

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    103
    35
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
561 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“before-theatre and after-theatre”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

the food is fabulous .. staff friendly and attentive in spite of it being so busy .. it's a great dining option if going to the Public Theater .. it is more quiet before shows and positively bustling late-night
Special features:fit for foodies,late-night find,neighborhood gem

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too loud!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Although this is a super famous restaurant and it's been here for more than one decade. I've found the food good, not excelent, the service was precise for that kind of establishment, even though they have the annoying tendency to refold your napkin every time someone goes to the bathroom. The crowd was vibrant, a little weird, which is ok, but way too loud!!!! I'm not sure i would go back.

Helpful?
Thank TACLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A great restaurant, Indochine is apparently still one of the best restaurants in NY. The service was smooth and elegant. The host shaked my hand upon arrival. The girls working were mesmerizingly pretty. The wines by the glass make it uncomplicated. The chilean sea bass was one of the most exquisite things i have tried in my life!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greek1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“after 25 years how can Indochine still be this good?”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Indochine used to be the star hangout in New York and you can tell it still has a stellar following by the authors of tis 35th anniversary book. The crowd tends to be a little older now but the food is really really good and the service is sans attitude..always a plus in an institution like this......the wines by the glass are ok....better to go by the bottle....order a few mains to share then a main course each. Tel the Maitre d' if you are not going to the theatre and have plenty of time. And we did a bit of star spotting but best you go there.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connolly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indochine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing