We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Greenwich Village Mainstay”

Sevilla Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1,403 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Greenwich Village Mainstay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We live down the street from Sevilla and dine there on the average of twice a month. When you walk in it feels like home. Although prices have gone up the menu has virtually not changed. Portions are generous so go easy on the bread. For starters you are offered either salad or soup. My husband prefers the garlic soup and I love the Caldo Gallego soup. A small pitcher of red sangria is a must. Main courses, where to start? Sometimes we order the Arroz con Pollo (ask for extra chorizo) and a Shrimp Ajillo. Other combo favorites we order are red snapper and any fish in green sauce. When we come in with picky eaters the broiled half chicken is good. Be sure you order it with the house made chips. Our daughters enjoy the Chicken Extremena and Chicken Villaroy. We have also come in for lunch and have gotten the Spanish Omlette. It is huge and will feed 2. Their fresh brewed cappuccino and tartuffo or cheesecake is a perfect ending.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGoose58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    86
    28
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
909 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 926 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is one of my mainstay places. Over the years the food has been consistently good. All the Spanish dishes are great. Last time I had the pound and a half lobster special. They serve it broiled, juicy. just right. With Sangria and then flan for dessert. Ask for the papas frietas with your meal.
Always attentive service. A busy fun place.
Jeremy T

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Spanish Restaurant in NYC (Spain)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have been going to Sevilla's now for over forty years. Back then I lived in this amazing section of the West Village, which other than all the new upscale high end stores has amazing brownstones, cafes, restaurants. etc.
We visit Sevilla's at leats once every few months and have had a variety of family events and parties here and while hectic and crowded(always) the food is consistently outstanding. Our two favorite dishes are the shrimp in green sauce, which is a light oil garlic based sauce and amazing over the Spanisg rice they serve. Their paella with or without lobster (or is it seafood) is amazing. Their french fries are superb. The portions are quite large and we always take home food for the next night.
Again leave yourself time to walk around the West Village!!
Ira Schulte

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardyston Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old World Spanish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Recommended by a friend - Saturday evening dinner about 5PM. Place is quaint, small, on the dark side and looks like it hasn't changed on 40 years - though not necessarily in a bad way.

Lots of garlic, lots of flavor. We shared the crab-stuffed mushrooms and the chorizo as well as paella. All good and tasty - like it came right out of your family's kitchen. Paella was packed with half a small lobster, and plenty of clams, mussels, shrimp and chicken to share.

Restaurant was packed the entire time we were there. Wait staff was friendly, though rushed - no one ever standing around or spending time in any one place. Food came very quickly (almost too quick) and hot. Empties were cleared from the table instantly as there was always someone rushing by the table grabbing whatever they could.

Price was less than expected for Manhattan - overall a good time and we will likely try again come time in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adeluciajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a great place to spend New Years Eve.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Not wanting to deal with a price fix meal NYE dinner, which traditionally costs more and provides less, we went back to an old neighborhood stand by.
I have been dining here for 20 years and the meal last night was just as good as the first time. The staff welcomed us like long lost family, even though most of our party had never been there. They wanted all to feel welcome.
Paella=great. Mariscota=great. Scallops ajillo=great. Pulpo/Clams Casino/chorizo=excellent starters. You come here to have a good home cooked meal, without the bells and whistles other Spanish restaurants try to flog at substantially higher prices. You come here to eat, not for the scene.
A couple of pitchers of sangria, followed by rice pudding and cheese cake and we were ready to welcome 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohayomountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sevilla Restaurant & Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sevilla Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing