We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for appetizers”
Review of Sosa Borella - CLOSED

Sosa Borella
Price range: US$25 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: c and e train at 50th street 1 train at 50th street n and r train at 49th street
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good for appetizers”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have been here a few times. The second floor rents out for private parties, which is nice. Nice atmosphere both upstairs and on the first floor. Very nice appetizer menu, including cheese and meat plates with queso manchego and other interesting options. A fun place to go for appetizers and drinks. Have also been here for dinner, and was not as impressed with the dinner menu. Don't get me wrong - it was fine. In another city I might say it was better than average - but with all of the great Italian options in NY, I can't say this would make my shortlist for dinner. But, again, would absolutely come back for appetizers and drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lamb Dishes”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived in the Big Apple via Amtrack for Valentines Day. Our first stop after the hotel was Sosa Borella for dinner. The pasta was fresh and delicious. The wines are from Argentina and excellent. We finished dinner with a satisfied and relaxed feeling, then headed off to see "Wicked".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Solid pre-theater choice”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Solid, well prepared and presented dishes. Nothing too fancy or adventurous but always pleases. This was our 4th pre-theater meal here and each time we had a satisfying, reasonable priced meal with courteous and attentive service. I had specials for both my appetizer (octopus ceviche) and entree grilled sea food mix (sea bream, calamari, shrimp and mussels) and my wife had 2 of their standards, the empanadas appetizer and the skirt steak. Each selection was enjoyable and more than enough to question whether or not there was room for dessert. Bonus: the E train stops right on the corner of 50th & 8th Ave. just a few steps from the entrance to the restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had reservations on Open Table at 10:15pm after seeing a show on a Monday night. We were the only ones in the restaurant, and our first thought was that we would be rushed through dinner so they could get home, but they were very welcoming and did not rush us at all. We enjoyed a bottle of wine, had wonderful bread with olive oil, split a caesar salad (very good dressing), had entrees (steak and fish--both delicious), and tiramisu for dessert. The atmosphere was nice--candles, good lighting, music in the background--and we had great service. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sosa Borella was a fun night”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a large party at Sosa Borella and they put us upstairs where we almost had a private room. The service and food was excellent and we had a great time there. They took good care of us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sosa Borella also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing