We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Alta

Alta
Reserve with OpenTable
Alta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,254 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had dinner at Alta during our last trip to New York. It was a wonderful experience. The restaurant is in a converted residence on a quiet street. It specializes in "small plates" of unique and expertly prepared food. There were four of us at dinner, which was perfect, since the portions are large enough for everyone to have taste. By New York standards, it was reasonably priced and we will make it a point to return on our next trip to NYC.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    122
    27
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pricey...but worth every penny!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Ate here on our last night in NYC after finding reviews on tripadvisor. The restaurant is quite hard to find, at basement level, but there is no sign or touristy menu outside. We just spotted it before giving up hope of ever finding it!!

Lovely restaurant inside, we sat upstairs in the terrace area overlooking the lower levels.

PLEASE NOTE: restaurant only accepts CASH or AMERICAN EXPRESS. Good to know before you go as we had to nip to cash machine.

As for the food...FABULOUS! Highly recommend the goats cheese & honey, spanish macaroni and steak pastries. Leave room for desert...the chocolate molten cake with honey ice cream is to die for!!! 4 tapas each (shared, we were hungry!) and 2 deserts with a bottle of red wine came to around $165 (not including tip).

Pricey, yes, but worth it? Absolutely! Service was fantastic as well. If I'm ever back in NYC I will definately plan a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nursey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
522 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely little spanish tapas restaurant in the West Village area. There is really no signage on the outside and hidden in a residential area. Lovely, charming, warm and quaint. The waitstaff were most excellent in recommending various dishes. We started with refreshing cocktails and bacon wrapped almond-dates and bacon wrapped almond-olives. Oh my, the flavors were delectable.
We also shared a fried cheese dish and a wonderful spanish pudding dessert that was also recommended. Highly recommend this hidden treasure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chichiSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food & service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

everything was good, except the waiter could be a little more efficient and friendlier. Nonetheless, a good hidden jewel.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great great food, friendly staff and lovely setting.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This little restaurant is a hidden gem. I say that as you could easily walk pass without knowing and when you peer in it just looks like a narrow bar. Once inside you will not be disappointed. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given a table in the middle of a bustling room. There was a lovely log fire burning and the place had a fantastic vibe.
Right over to the food. I was a bit apprehensive selecting this restaurant as we had a spanish friend with us but after the first few dishes arrived I was relieved as we were all commmending the lovely food. Alot of fancy ingredients are woven into thr dishes to give them that added edge. Personally I have to recommend the tagine and slow roast beef. Both were excellent, some of the bets food i have eaten. When in nyc visit this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamilton238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alta also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing