We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place, terrible service, food somewhere in between”
Review of Ciao

Ciao
Ranked #9,215 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nolita
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice place, terrible service, food somewhere in between”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

we popped in for dinner because the place looked busy enough and the outside seating looked a nice place to watch the world go by.
the service was quick enough, but it was a bit alarming to have our wine choice met with "actually this [obviously more expensive] one is better". we decided to reconsider and the waiter became obviously impatient and walked off. bread and water were dumped unceremoniously in front of us and food arrived suspiciously quickly - and was of pretty basic quality for the price. we'd been made so uncomfortable that we asked for the check- and were totally ignored. we had to ask three times and it ended up taking nearly half an hour. during this time there were countless members of staff milling around right by us.
when it finally arrived, the (hefty) tip was already included in the total. no wonder the staff couldn't be bothered.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    18
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Average NYC Restaurant!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I was a bit surprise it was recommended. The food was average not big deal. I ordered their pasta dish. I felt the waiter was rushing me to get the next person to my seat. The food tasted commercial with no freshness to it. This place is just another restaurant that the village has to offer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank georgeny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
“Nice place to eat in west village”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The location was perfect. I love the outdoor space on the corner. The food was good and fairly priced. Service was good. Everyone was very friendly

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“A disaster! Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The standard of food in New York is so high and the choice so varied, with such stiff competition, I am shocked that this place manages to survive. Service is terrible (we waited over 45 minutes for 2 toasted paninis while others who arrived later were served their main dishes sooner). The food is very poor and it is expensive. Don't be enticed by the inviting facade. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I assume you're going here because the Olive Garden burned down.”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It's always fun to go to a restaurant and feel like you're interrupting the staff. It was a little cold in the restaurant, so we asked the waiter to turn down the ceiling fan. Then we asked him again. Then we asked the busboy. Then we asked the waiter again. On the 4th try, the fan was reluctantly turned off. Fortunately, there were no other customers so our waiter could go back outside and keep checking his phone while checking out girls. The food was somewhere between what you'd get at the Olive Garden and what you'd get when you microwaved your Olive Garden leftovers. On top of that, the bar tender spent most of her night reading a magazine and, of course, checking her phone. Go anywhere but here. I beg you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laskasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing