We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Pastis - CLOSED

Pastis
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: Little West 12th St.
Transit: A,C,E,L to 14th street-walk two blocks west to Ninth Avenue & two blocks south to Little West 12th. 1,9,2,3 to 14th Street at Seventh Avenue, walk three blocks west to Ninth Avenue & two blocks south to Little West 12th.
Description: Pastis is a French bistro located in Manhattan's meatpacking district opened by Keith McNally. Executive Chef Pascal Le Seac'h prepares a menu that combines hearty Provencal dishes with moderately-priced bistro fare. The bar serves a range of house cocktails, wines by the glass, carafe or bottle, and several varieties of pastis, an anise-flavored aperitif from the south of France.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Food and service are great. I particularly love the crepe Suzette, arugula salad, ricard, french fries , steak,etc, etc, We generally go whenever we're in the city for trade shows, the cheese plate is excellent. Also, decor is so European, I feel lIke I'm actually on France.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoppingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    525
    190
    48
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great find, fab food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We visited Pastis for breakfast after it was recommended by a friend - we initially had a little trouble finding it from the directions we had but glad we persevered as we loved it. A great place, with lovely atmosphere and amazing eggs benedict. In fact we loved it so much that we visited again on our last morning in New York for more of the same! The place was really busy each time and tables were quite close together but this all added to the atmosphere. A great place to start your day and plan the rest of your trip. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Helpful?
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you find yourself in New York, definately visit Pastis, just make sure you ve made a reservation or have a drink next door until you can get a table, it's quite busy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“au revoir for now”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

what a lively closing evening spent at Pastis --- so many coming out to absorb the atmosphere on their final evening dinner service! and true to form they did not disappoint and left such a
remarkable impression that I cannot wait for them to open again after renovations!! )))

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VixenAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite resturant”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very energetic place. Great bar, food, atmosphere and service. This is my favorite resturant in NYC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Brown_NOMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pastis also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing