We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As if you were invited to the home of the owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Faro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Faro
Price range: US$0 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: West Village
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As if you were invited to the home of the owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place has been in business since the 1920s, and still looks like it from the drab, dated decor. But that's part of the experience. Delicious, traditional "home style" Spanish specialties in generous portions. Fast preparation, accommodating service, and overall, quite tasty. Loved the salad dressing. We arrived about 6 pm and by 7, the place was packed — and it's a tight environment to maneuver. But we'd go back and try a new selection of items on the menu. We especially like the paella and the chicken in almond sauce.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyofPlymouth_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
1 review
“As authentic as it gets.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Having visited Spain many times in the past, to often Spanish-themed restaurants here in the US cater more to 'quantity' rather than quality in recreating old Spanish classics. However El Faro is unique in the fact that it provides the real Spanish tapas experience. Although the portions are not big, the tastes are huge and I would suggest at trying as many different things as you can with your group. The Sangria and Paella are the stand-out items. Restaurant is well worth a visit, don't go expecting flash interiors or loads of comfort, but do go expecting great food and an 'off-the-beaten' path experience that won't be matched anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nasha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tired food, drab and dreary. The magic is gone.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

I have been going to El Faro for 40 years - but the last visit was disappointing. The food was tasteless - partly from being over cooked and the taste - which once was dazzling - was bland. The service was slow, disengaged and made the evening even less pleasant. This was a place where the Paella was to die for. So too were the shrimp in both the green and white sauce. Sadly - no longer.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nyc2cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
“Thank God for no changes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

There are few restaurants that you really love and enjoy that stay exactly like you remember them . Even after 45 years. I was a boy of 17on my first visit with friends. I felt like i found a hidden secret in NY. The food and atmosphere are very quaint. The place is small and rustic and Thank god they havent changed in the 45 byears ive been going there! Its nice to know you still have the same place to go to when in this hectic world so many favorites come and go so frequently! As a boy i remember idiscovering a wine called Sangria served in a glass beer pitcher that didnt exist anywhere else yet. we used to sneak in bottles with corks and fill them to take home. The salad dressing is even unique. Try this place and see for yourself you wont be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misterg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Sangria, Delcious Paella, and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

El Faro exceeded out expectations. We visited in the middle of the day, after taking a harbour tour, and had the waiters full attention. We were the only on in the place at 3pm, but I am certain it is packed at night.

I had never had Sangria before, so we gave it a try. Now I am hooked and none can compare to the red Sangria at El Faro.

We had a sampling of Tapas and Paella and were thrilled with the amount of food we received for the price. Great value!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flkrsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Faro also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing