We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas Day Dinner”
Review of Sel et Poivre

Sel et Poivre
Reserve with OpenTable
Sel et Poivre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,337 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: between 64st and 65st
Transit: 6 Line to Lexington and 53rd (walk up 6 blocks) or Hunter College (walk down 5 blocks)
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Day Dinner”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked online at opentable a month before heading to Ny on holiday and thank goodness we did as it was full. The service we received was excellent especially the two young ladies who took our coats, and organised our table.
The food was faultless - turkey and chestnut stuffing off the fixed price menu, though there was an option of a la carte. Great options.
Great wine list.
Definitely return for special occasion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smilers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    43
    19
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
584 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“good neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nice neighborhood restaurant owned by a real professional who knows how to talk with his guests and make them feel welcome. Last night the bartender was wearing a small hat and looked ridiculous and unprofessional........lose the hat. Other than that, the experience was excellent and we'll be back. I had pea soup then liver with sauteed onions. Very good..........and nicely priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
320 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have fond memories of having very good food here. I had lunch with a friend the other day and it was fair. The salade nicoise was made with canned tuna. I expected better at this price range. The service was somewhat erratic, though they were pleasant. However, it was nice and quiet which I appreciate and its on Open Table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,Georgia,USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“small Paris themed restaurant”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

White tablecloths with a square of white paper over the top, fresh flowers, black and white photos of Paris scenes, not a totally French menu, has food for all tastes. Very attentive waiter and owner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was nice to get back to Sel et Poivre”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you like French food and a small quaint restaurant you will like Sel et Poivre. Escargot is excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sel et Poivre also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sel et Poivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing