We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantic down the Hill”
Review of Atlantic Grill

Atlantic Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Atlantic Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #986 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between 76th and 77th Streets
Transit: 6 train to 77th Street and the M103 bus.
Description: With two restaurants in New York City - on the Upper East Side and at Lincoln Center - and one in Atlantic City, Atlantic Grill is a luxury liner on land, an urban seafood brasserie where nautical decor meets old world charm. Atlantic Grill masters American seafood and showcases a refined raw bar, sushi and signature BR Guest Hospitality. Enjoy oyster, clam and shellfish selections that change daily and, and market-fresh fish available simply grilled a la carte or as composed entrees. Experience Atlantic Grill down the shore at Caesars Atlantic City Hotel & Casino, with Surf & Turf, Simply Grilled selections, and fresh New England fare, all with a breathtaking view of the beach and boardwalk.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Atlantic down the Hill”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The customer service and quality of the food has gone way down hill at the grill. We used to eat there every few months. We took my parents there for their anniversary. We were seated at 8:00pm and our food arrived at 9:10pm. We kept asking the waiter what was taking so long and every 10 minutes he would tell us our food was coming out but it never did. I ordered the salmon and the portion was so small I thought it was an appetizer and not a main course. My father ordered the steak rare and it was well done and burnt. We complained to the manager and he told us that he would look after us the next time we come back to the restaurant. I would never go back there. The food and service were horrible. There are so many restaurants to eat at in New York, stay away from this one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    181
    55
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good food, very slow service”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had reservations but still had to wait. Once we sat down, it was about 30 minutes until our food order was taken. Everything just took a really long time. Brought water to the table, then left and was along time before we got our food in. I was in a group of 7 people so I do not recommend this place if you are in a group, probably aimed better for couples. Not somewhere i would take kids.

Menu is mostly seafood, if you aren't a fish fan, not a good spot to go. Not a lot of variety. The food was good, but not the best I've had. If this slow service is typical, this would not be a spot I go back to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milton, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expensive, good”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We ate here with our 4 children. They serve some seafood (less than expected given the name) as well as turf options. They also have a children's menu - ours got the standard pasta (butter/parmesan and marinara sauce). The price fixe menu is the best bargain - 3 course meal and after-dinner coffee. Service was attentive. Overall this was our most expensive meal, but can't say it was the best.

Helpful?
Thank SfdbMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Grill, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Atlantic Grill!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable meal.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great prix fixe lunch”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We've always enjoyed Atlantic Grill for a fine dining, dinner experience as well as the occasional brunch, but had never tried them for lunch before and were very impressed. Our only prior compliants with Atlantic Grill is that is's on the expensive side. However, the 3-course lunch menu was very well priced at ~$25 a head, and the food was up to their usual high standards. I enjoyed a cream of mushroom soup with parmesan crouton followed by a delicious chicken burger and finished off with a lemon tart. My wife had a vegetable sushi roll, with the only disappointment being a rather bland soy noodle and sea bass main, which she finished with a trio of ice cream. The ambience is always great, having a lovely nautical theme. Service is good, without hitting the heights of great but always pleasant and attentive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Grill, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your dining experience at Atlantic Grill!

We are so happy you are a fan of our prix fixe lunch and hope to have you back again soon! We will pass on your comments regarding your previous meal to our chefs and staff here.

See you soon and we wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistent excellent cuisine”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Atlantic Grill provides a consistent level of quality cuisine and service. A diverse menu that emphasizes fish, seafood. Other excellent choices of meat, poultry and pasta provides the diner with many options. Despite the busy and almost frenetic activity service remains good. Waiters and waitresses provide helpful advise as to menu choices and wine availability.
As a New Yorker I find this restaurant a reliable resource for entertainment of friends and out of town guests.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gibby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Grill, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your recent dining experience at Atlantic Grill!

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the seafood and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you visit us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlantic Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Atlantic Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing