We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretensious good Italian food”
Review of Serafina

Serafina
Ranked #1,468 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unpretensious good Italian food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

At quite reasonable prices, Serafina is a place for eating quite well in NYC. Pasta is excellent, as well as the meat they serve.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LSARJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    112
    29
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Apparently they have a few, yet we'd eaten at the Madison at 79th street address, which is located on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Very nice, offering large window to people watch on Madison Ave. The food is solid Italian, and is fresh, and tasty. The beer list is non-existent, and the wines are somewhat limiting. The server was attentive and knowledgeable. Not a lot of places that serve bresaola, but this is one of them. It was amazing on the pizza!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great food, good service and kids friendly. We had pasta and pizza and the kids had a special menu. Will remember to go back next time in NY.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMadruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RUDE”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have been visiting this restaurant since they opened with the original name "Sofia's." Each time we visit the the service gets worse. The hostesses are so condescending & rude. They should be trained to be friendly & courteous to each guest that walks in, but it seems they are trained to be rude. The servers act like they cannot be bothered. They look at you like you are a nuisance by being there. The food is always very good though but we always leave the place with a bitter taste in our mouths because of the lack of service. We visited on Monday, December 30th, 2013.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Food..lots of gluten free options”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really loved this restaurant...I loved that they had gluten free options..literally every pasta on the menu they also had in gluten free. Great service and great food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serafina also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Serafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing