We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING AJISAI - WHAT A FIND AN SURE TO RETURN TO ONE OUR NEXT NY TRIP.”

Ajisai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #1,961 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Midtown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“AMAZING AJISAI - WHAT A FIND AN SURE TO RETURN TO ONE OUR NEXT NY TRIP.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

On our last night in New York after experiencing so-so food on the trip, we chanced upon Ajisai and from the moment of walking through the doors to leaving was one of the most memorable dining experiences ever.

The location is perfect, about a 5-10 minute walk from Time Square but well away from the noise and congestion of the tourist hub.

Everything about Ajisai was top rating, from the greeting of front of house at the door, the $2 special on the branded beers from Sun-Thurs night, the service was professional and the food was exceptional.

Best of all the Salmon Teriyaki - fresh salmon fillet that just melted in the mouth accompanied by fluffy rice and freshly prepared Sushi made for an unbeatable meal.

Fellow guests appeared to be mainly local who know of this delightful Japanese restaurant in the Hell's Kitchen location of NY.

The one regret - we don't have one of similar quality near where we live as will be there most nights!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brugge888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    42
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We walked past 'Ajisai' whilst seeking out a different restaurant in the 'Hell's Kitchen' district but were drawn in both by the menu and number of diners on a Sunday evening.
The whole experience was first class from start to finish, in particular the Salmon 'Teriyaki Dinner' at 17 dollars which was delicious and exceptional value for money. After the pleasant Miso Soup, I was expecting something very modest but was overwhelmed with the size and quality of the salmon and the assortment of various Sushi, seaweed, salad and sauces with which it was served.
The staff were friendly and informative and the service delightful. And to cap it all, beers are $2 between a Sunday and Thursday!
Highy recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
271 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Japanese Fusion Food Worth A Visit”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The diverse and appealing menu underscores Ajisai's wish to have diners who try their food "get hooked" and become believers that Japanese fusion cuisine is the "new comfort food." Their food is excellent, presented beautifully,and servers are eager to please. There is a selection of special rolls that are quite unusual and a very good reason to visit this fine choice for a very good Japanese meal. The only negative to report is the traffic/siren noise from busy Ninth Avenue that at times was just a bit much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBJoelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Martin, French West Indies
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delight and perfection”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If anyone wished to delect one's tastebuds to refinement, one's skin to just the right temperature and humidity level of air conditioning, just the right blend of subtlety of ingredients to heighten one's arousal of culinary taste, and the adequate discretion of service so as not to disturb one's appreciation of the appropriate tea to drink with one's lunch, one should undisputably go to Asijai Japanese Restaurant in New York, whether at 795 Lexington Ave or at 615 9th Avenue. I chose a Japanese seaweed salad as entrée, the salmon and mango tartar as main course, and the gree tea ice cream for dessert, the whole with tea of course, and was delighted to find the exquisite delicatesse of Japanese ingredients in each part of my lunch. The peace in the restaurant was appreciated, as was the fact I didn't freeze whilst eating. I can definitely recommend this restaurant as one of the best in New York City. The whole for around 23 USD.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greedy-Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definite good choice in Hell's Kitchen”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are not big Japanese restaurant attendees but we will definitely return to Ajisai.
We ordered the gyoza (potstickers) for an appetizer, and the chicken teriyaki and shrimp tempera...all were excellent and ample portions. The entrees had fresh sauteed vegies underneath and the presentation was lovely. Entree prices were around $15...very reasonable. We sampled the sushi & maki rolls our friends ordered and they were delicious...even for non sushi eaters! The decor was contemporary and cosy with nice ambient lighting. All staff were Japanese. Service was never delayed and we truly enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ajisai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ajisai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing