We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
Ranked #138 of 14,836 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £23 - £62
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to three decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves seasonal menus starting at $165 for dinner and a $72, three-course lunch prix fixe menu. Reservations are accepted 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, available for reservations, though walk-ins are accepted. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I had an excellent meal at the Gramercy Tavern. We chose the 3 course meal which had a wide range of choices, the desserts were really excellent. The restaurant had a great atmosphere and the staff were excellent.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank francesmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,120 of 3,807 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed every single dish we ordered. You can either eat in the bar or do the prix fixe in the restaurant. IT all depends on budget and taste but it doesn't affect enjoyment or quality. It was one of the best meals i had in new york. The cocktails were a wee bit disappointing skip them and get wine.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank avidtravelercalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Gramercy Tavern has quickly become a favorite dinner destination every time we venture away from our more rural abode and venture into New York. Food has always been excellent as has been their wine selection. Their staff are attentive, friendly and knowledgeable, adding to the overall experience.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tsleibhe_uaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I have never tasted food with so much flavour combined with wonderful wine, service and ambience. The menu was expained in just enough detail, some humour and knowledge; the service was perfection in timing and skill in a relaxed but refined atmosphere. A perfect evening!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We always enjoy our time at Gramercy Tavern. Our waiter, Stafford was fabulous. He was able to explain everything on the Tasting Menu. When I asked if they had foie gras, he replied that they no longer prepare it, but surprised us with a liver mousse as an extra!! How thoughtful was that!! The food is always spectacular and this experience did not disappoint. Our favorites were the smoked Arctic char, lobster, and I loved the pork belly. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 912tonil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.