We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Healthy options, Pleasant Staff”
Review of Chickpea

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chickpea
Ranked #8,332 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Neighbourhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: East Village
KIN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Healthy options, Pleasant Staff”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Very pleasant, smart staff. This restaurant had very healthy meal options which were all baked, high fiber, rich in antioxidants and tasty while preserving variety. An excellent alternative to fast food while not compromising taste.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beetduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fast fresh healthy food”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

You can taste the freshness in every bite, and the flavours are great. Even the vegetarian options are fulfilling! Highly recommended fast food!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Good food...just not my preference”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I decided to step outside of my comfort zone and give this restaurant a try. I ordered a pocket (pita) sandwich with roasted red pepper hummus, chicken, and veggies. While it wasn't bad at all, I don't think I would do it again...it's just not my taste. The restaurant was clean and fast which is a plus at lunch time!

The one thing I really enjoyed from Chickpea was the cup of lentil soup - I got it just in case the sandwich didn't satisfy - and the soup was absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Healthy Fast food! :D Can't wait to see this chain expand”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Delicious wraps and salads! I hope this chain comes west! I love their pita pockets shwarma! YUMMMY -- do not miss the jalapeno hummus...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not my thing...”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I guess I'm just not a huge fan of Mediterranean food...ordered a stuffed pita looking thing with falafel, hummus, rice, chicken and cheese. Now, they charged me extra for the cheese even though the setup was like a Subway. It was ok but the taste was just too strong and I think I should have gone to Chipotle down the street and had a burrito for about half the price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank misseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chickpea also viewed

 

Been to Chickpea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing