We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Across the street from Bouley, a million miles away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scalini Fedeli

Scalini Fedeli
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalini Fedeli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #837 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Hudson
Transit: Chambers St
Description: Scalini Fedeli ranked among New York's finest restaurants since its opening in early 2004, taking Italian cuisine to new heights. Rewarded with the highest overall ratings in the Zagat Survey, Scalini Fedeli has been granted one star by the Michelin guide in it's inaugural 2006 issue. The inviting decor features vaulted ceilings and European antiques and provides the perfect setting for chef Michael Cetrulo's delightful cuisine which offers the finest ingredients coupled with a confidence and grace that ensures your meal will be a memorable one. Menu highlights include soft egg yolk raviolo with ricotta and truffle butter and New York's finest venison chop in a port wine and balsamic vinegar sauce with toasted hazelnuts, sauteed spinach and roasted Mission figs. The 350-bottle wine list encompasses all regions of Italy but also does justice to the best American wineries.
Catskill, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Across the street from Bouley, a million miles away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Scalini Fedeli is not a place where diners wear suits and murmur. It is a place where people come to have a good time. The menu is ample, the food exceptionally well prepared, if not particularly italian. The service is exemplary, the wine list extensive, if not inexpensive.

A place to go back to.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    58
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
359 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Truly a transcendent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had high hopes before coming since the reviews were very promising, and a little worried when we arrived and saw how busy the place was and the tight seating arrangements.

However, it turned out to be one of the best meals of our life. The service was spot on and incredible to watch; the servers were very professional but moved so quickly around the place; very impressive.

The food, OMG (and I never say that). I had the carbonara pasta as an appetizer, and it was so flavorful and bursting with little surprises that I will never view this dish the same way again. But the star of the show was the pork chop main; I'm not a huge pork chop fan because it's so often dry and flavorless, but this dish was revolutionary. Medium-cooked, soft, juicy, intensely flavored and with just a perfect coating. One of those moments when you realize just how good a piece of meat can be.

The other dishes were also fantastic, and I only don't write about them because of the comparison to the two above. Again, one of the best meals we've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

It is great choice for a special celebration. The atmosphere is sophisticated but not snobby; the service is attentive without being intrusive; the fixed menu is creative, the food is delicious, and the wine list is outstanding. It is a bit noisy but nothing unusual for NYC standards. It is not cheap but worth every penny. Overall, a memorable experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PapaiMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Dining and Old World Service in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

After high praise from TA reviewers, we reserved here for dinner on a busy
Saturday night and are in agreement with the great ambience, high quality
of food and impeccable service presented by this establishment. After
perusing the extensive menu items (as others have mentioned, it is a prix
fixe of $70 pp with one selection each from the "primi piatti," "piatti di
mezzo" and "dolci"), I selected a very reasonably priced Lucente Super
Tuscan from an equally impressive wine list. We then were given a sample
of the onion focaccia along with their regular selection of breads
accompanied by a top quality olive oil for dipping. Then we were provided
an amuse-bouche of a single ravioli-like pasta immersed in black truffle
foam and immediately declared 1) we could eat a plate full of just this
pasta and 2) it would be a great evening of dining.

I had the soft egg yolk raviolo with ricotta and spinach covered with
truffle butter (obviously I could not get enough truffle) and my wife had
the orecchiette in spicy garlic/olive oil sauce with escarole, sausage,
cherry pepper and anchovy finished with caramelized pecorino romano after
consulting with our extremely efficient server, Piero. She had narrowed her choices to two and when asked his opinion, he replied: "Do you have any problems with a slightly spicy presentation? No? Then it's the orecchiette all the way" as he proceeded to write down the choice. Both dishes were very good indeed and the portion of orecchiette was quite generous for a starter. As a second, I had sautéed shrimp in sherry wine and garlic sauce over a cauliflower and raisin farrotto with crispy cauliflower. The shrimp were fresh and expertly cooked with just the right amount of give, and the crispy cauliflower described were actually small florets, non-greasy and light to the taste, providing just a hint of crunch to the dish. My wife (again at the suggestion of Piero, who noted this dish as more his favorite than one of the current evening's specials) had the lightly pounded parmigiano crusted pork chop on panzanella salad with hazelnuts in a garlic and sage jus. I finished with a very light flourless chocolate soufflé with cappuccino gelato, while she (again undecided due to the nice selection), let the assured Piero ask "What is your favorite of the gelatos?" as he followed with: "Leave yourself in my hands." She was presented with the warm caramelized apple tart in baked filo crust with brown sugar crumble and her gelato of choice. The apples were thickly sliced, not thin as is usually the case in desserts of this type, allowing for the full freshness and juicy flavor to shine without drying them out.

As mentioned: Fine dining, fine food, excellent service and reasonable prices add up to a memorable and worthwhile NYC dining experience. This menu was slated for September-October and we eagerly anticipate returning on another month to see what excellent dishes await us. I'm sure all the servers are extremely professional and efficient, but it goes without saying that, if at all possible, I will request Piero once again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Captain_J_Spaulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We wish we could dine here more often but the 4 course menu is little bit to much food for my wife, she still seems to finish every course, one of the best Italian restaurants in the city!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ireland077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scalini Fedeli also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Scalini Fedeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing