We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very ordinary I'm afraid”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bo Ky

Bo Ky
Ranked #5,039 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
new york
Level Contributor
1,078 reviews
646 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Very ordinary I'm afraid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Ok I am spoiled I ate Falls Church, VA Vietnamese food and so far can find nothing as good in NY. This place has a long menu of soups and quick service. but nothing more to write home about. The bathroom is at best functional and needs a re-do. You could have a better meal, albeit not Vietnamese, at the corner of Bayard and Bowery at NY Noodletown, which is Chinese.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money, great tasting meals on the cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Love the pork chop rice. Used to be a cheap eat period, but has since improved to a cheap eat + tasty food spot. Highly recommended for Chinatown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic Chinese Food & very inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

It is a bit of a dive but the food is fantastic. It is located in the heart of Chinatown and is a real locals place. Very small so you may have a wait but, it is worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MWJFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Horrible Horrible restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I am not picky on food, I like most of the Chinese restaurant. Bo Ky is the only one I use HORRIBLE to describe. The restaurant is so DIRTY. The duck in the soup is not fresh, it went bad. I wonder if they serve us the food that was cooked FIVE DAYS AGO.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the Curry Chicken soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

The golden rule; If the restaurant is crowded you should try it...worked for us in this case. It was not long waiting time. The prices was to minimum (5-7$ per meal). The Curry Chicken soup was excellent. We also tried the duck and it was really good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HlynurHauksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bo Ky also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bo Ky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing