We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langan's Bar & Restaurant

Langan's Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Langan's Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #525 of 13,477 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Transit: A,C,E,1,2,3 to 42nd Street
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for dinner because they had no wait. Tried a few other spots and the lines were out the door and around the corner! Hoped that the lack of wait wasn't a negative indication of the food here and it wasn't. Food was good and service was good as well. Nice atmosphere. I recommend for a nice dinner out while in NYC.

Helpful?
Thank KeithnAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    211
    77
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I have had better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had the onion soup and fish and chips. The onion soup was nice and cheesy with decent flavour. The fish was terrible. It was soft and mushy not flaky at all. The fries were skimpy. My wife had the grilled chicken she found it dry and lacking in flavour. The beer was cold so if you want a cold beer, come here but go elsewhere to eat.
The manager came by and asked how everything was, I said "I have had better." She ignored my comment or was not really interested in listening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koolieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are looking for good food in affordable prices (cheap for Manhattan standards), this is a good choice. The service was also good and the atmosphere pretty nice; some nights of the week they have live music, but it was not the one we chose to dine. The menu includes various dishes (burgers, pasta, steaks, fish, Irish stuff) and good beers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cap10awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to eat dinner as we were exhausted after a day at museums and sights; our hotel was 3 doors down. The food was great! I had corned beef and it was better than the pastrami we had at a famous deli the next day. Service was excellent until we wanted our check; the waitress wandered by 3 times but I never could catch her eye to get our check. We were in the dining area and the bar was fairly full. The sound did not filter over to us so still let us enjoy our meal and the music. Glad we ate here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank njpMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
209 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Our favorite Irish Pub in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great meal here, all 5 of us loved our plates. The chicken pot pie was outstanding, as were the bangers and mash.

This is a larger place with a Pub like atmosphere in one part and then a dining room in another part. We sat in the dining room and enjoyed the atmosphere in that room, plus our server was excellent.

Great food! Thanks for reading.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langan's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Langan's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing