We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofia's Closed August 2013”
Review of Sofia's Restaurant - CLOSED

Sofia's Restaurant
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Rockefeller Plaza & 6th Avenue
Transit: D F M N B V
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sofia's Closed August 2013”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We visited NYC in September and found Sofia's just closed the month before. We'll miss it. Their rent was raised so they decided after 37 years to closed down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    26
    27
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closing of a Manhattan Gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Unfortunately this restaurant has recently closed. We therefore missed our usual visit where we used to dine to the accompaniment of live music. Let's hope it is re-opened as it was a gem

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1705Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but pricy...”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had an anti-pasta and drinks in the bar befor seeing Wicked just up the street. It was good enough we made reservations for dinner later. The food was god, but a bit pricy for the portion size. The prices of drinks also increased at the table vs at the par. Lall in all it was good, but not Great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We sat at the bar and had free sausage & peppers appetizers, and had a light dinner. Great bartender and food was good. Heard they were closing for good that weekend:(

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

While there was nothing terribly bad about our experience here, there was nothing special about it either. My wife really liked her ravioli. My pasta was ok but the scallops were overcooked and chewy. Both kids ordered the pesto gnocchi and, while the gnocchi was pretty good, the pesto was over powering. Service was decent. Overall it was just ok. There are so many good places to eat in the vicinity that I just can't recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofia's Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing