We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food in a Very Convenient Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angus' Cafe Bistro

Angus' Cafe Bistro
Ranked #3,474 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: A, C, E, N, Q, R, S, 1, 2, 3 & 7 trains to 42nd Street.
Description: Angus' Cafe Bistro is a one hundred-sixty seat, full-service eatery located in the heart of New York City's bustling Times Square. Given its proximity to several Broadway theaters, the pre-show dinner seating is the restaurant's busiest, but before or after is the time to take advantage of the restaurant's charm for either a relaxing lunch or dinner without the pressure of an impending curtain. Additionally, the restaurant offers several attractive features including a bargain prix fixe lunch menu, an irresistible late night snack menu and the house specialty: a porterhouse steak for two which includes unlimited wine by the glass if you order it after 8pm. Brunch is served all weekend long and private parties/special events of all shapes and sizes are willingly and expertly accommodated.
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
199 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Very Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Went to dinner between Broadway shows. Had a reservation on a Saturday evening. We were seated promptly and had an excellent view of 44th Street. The service, the food and the drinks were all wonderful. The menu is not extensive, but the fare has a homey comfort to it. I definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    86
    43
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Rushed but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Have been here 15 times over past decade. Something has gone down with quality - The buttermilk chicken had fatty skin and looked so sad on its bed of potatoes. My husband's salmon was tiny and overdone. The best thing was the brownie dessert. We have always chosen Angus for its location, but will probably look elsewhere next trip. They are always crowded so do not need our custom.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The tiny little bistro is wonderful. The service was great. Arrived earlier then the reservation and not the entire party was present but it was no problem we were seated right away. Started out with a Pegu cocktail which was fabulous so I had another one!

I had ordered the Spicy Conch Chowder as a starter. The chowder was not too spicy and it was thick and good.

For the entrée I had Moules Frites with the spicy tomato sauce. I was surprised by the amount of mussels--a very good dish. In fact I wish I had bread to soak up the broth.

To end the meal I had sticky toffee bread pudding which was very good--not to heavy.

I would go back to this restaurant in a heartbeat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjbolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious French food that appealed to parents and picky kids. Table for 8 no wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We were in busy Times Square on a Friday night with 8 people, and waked right in to the cafe and we were sat right away. Highly recommend truffle fries, steak w herb butter, house Cabernet and the creme brûlée was to die for. Mac and cheese creamy and house made. Great attentive service and our kids loved it too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kdk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaqua, PA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Skip It”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I recognize that each person has their own experience and rates it here on TripAdvisor, but I can't imagine anyone recommending this restaurant. It's not inexpensive enough to be a super bargain and there's nothing nice enough to recommend to anyone you don't hate.

We went after a show. The place was empty except for one table. We got the porterhouse-for-two special. It came with three sides, but not for two people so we got one small bowl of salad, one potato, etc. Keep in mind we weren't splitting a meal, we ordered the $77 steak for two. It did come with all you can drink house wine, but trust me, you can't drink a lot. The steak was average, the service was average. I think I could have randomly picked another restaurant within 500' and done better no matter which direction I walked. I rarely say this....but skip this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angus' Cafe Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Angus' Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing