We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek food & service”
Review of Uncle Nick's

Uncle Nick's
Ranked #2,025 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Looking for a fresh catch on the West Side? Discover Uncle Nick’s! He was one of the first in the 80’s to bring fresh, moderately priced Greek food to Manhattan, in family-size portions, and he’s been there ever since! We’re not fancy, we don’t dim the lights and our dishes are made to eat, not admire – but when you’re in the mood for a friendly, festive meal – with lots of laughter, good spirits, and generous portions of hearty, Greek cooking, Uncle Nick’s is the place for you.
gibraltar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Greek food & service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Went to Uncle Nick's after the theatre. We arrived late at 11:30 and were asked to order quickly as the kitchen would be closing soon. After we had ordered, we did not feel rushed at all. We had a great meze, which the menu said served 2, but was enough for the four of us. Mains, including moussaka & steak were authentic & tasty. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank juana1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    83
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford
Level Contributor
284 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food Ever!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I were with a group tour of New York and we ate dinner here with the group. The food was outstanding, but the place is small and does not accommodate a large group well - more a couple or two couples place. The tzatziki sauce was the most flavorful I've ever had anywhere! I've never tasted anything like it! I'd be willing to be squeezed in with a group again to have that delicious flavor! The Greek salad, gyros, baklava and and stuffed grape leaves were awesome as well! Service is excellent! Don't pass this place by if you're in Mid-Town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IL-Snowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced, Good Greek Food and a Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I am Greek and grew up on Greek food as well as making it a point to eat Greek food wherever I travel and can say without hesitation that, despite Chicago's claims to great Greek food, for my money NY has the best Greek food outside of Greece. Nick's is up there among the best, especially for its price point, which is quite reasonable, making it one of the better values in the midtown area. We had several dishes, including grilled octopus, mousaka and grilled octopus and spanakopita. All were very good. There is better Greek food in mid-town, but it will be way more expensive. Service was not smooth or polished, but friendly and warm. Good (not great) selection of well priced Greek wines as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Greek food with friendly informative staff”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

So few reviews. Was skeptical before we went in. Totally blown away by the food. Our server was very helpful in suggestions to bring about a very tasty authentic Greek food experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favorite in the Hood”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I am never disappointed when I come to Nick's. We live in the hood and if we can't decide where to go, we always come to Nick's. It's a great value and the food is tasty and filling. The service is always spot on but the atmosphere is nothing special.

RECS: Branzino, Moussaka, Grape Leaves

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Nick's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Uncle Nick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing