We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-they made amends for mishap”
Review of Uncle Nick's

Uncle Nick's
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Nick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,033 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Looking for a fresh catch on the West Side? Discover Uncle Nick’s! He was one of the first in the 80’s to bring fresh, moderately priced Greek food to Manhattan, in family-size portions, and he’s been there ever since! We’re not fancy, we don’t dim the lights and our dishes are made to eat, not admire – but when you’re in the mood for a friendly, festive meal – with lots of laughter, good spirits, and generous portions of hearty, Greek cooking, Uncle Nick’s is the place for you.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
262 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Good-they made amends for mishap”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Portions were incredible size-they might want to consider trimming them to reduce waste! Food was good and although my lamb started a little tough, it was actually very good once I got to the middle.

My wife bit into a small piece of metal near the end of her meal. No damage-close call, and we simply showed it to the waiter. They were very apologetic and although we didn't ask for anything or make a scene, they comped her meal. Very impressive. Would recommend...food was very good and sometimes stuff like that happens!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZ-Traveler85253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    83
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My extended family all met to enjoy dinner together and we did. I can't say the service was the best, but there were 10 of us, so we did add a bit to the confusion. Everyone enjoyed their food--many different choices. I'm not an aficionado of Greek food, but I was satisfied. My niece, who is a Greek food lover did not find something she was interested in ordering and settled for something else. The location was good especially if you're going to a show (the others in our party were) and the prices were reasonable. I would go back if I were in the mood for Greek food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisypat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still good food and service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We went on a Sunday evening and had a wonderful time. We haven't been here for almost 5 years, but the food and service were better than ever. The RED SNAPPER WAS PERFECT. The PITA is the best we ever had. The Salads were authentic and delicious . The waitstaff was very friendly and helpfull. I hope to go more offen.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reminder of Greece”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Best Greek food since I visited Greece. The waiters were efficient without hurrying us and very accommodating. We had a 2 1/2 year old in our party of 4 and a high chair was provided. Moussaka was delicious and enough for two. Atmosphere was warm and very family oriented.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natalieing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibraltar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Greek food & service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Went to Uncle Nick's after the theatre. We arrived late at 11:30 and were asked to order quickly as the kitchen would be closing soon. After we had ordered, we did not feel rushed at all. We had a great meze, which the menu said served 2, but was enough for the four of us. Mains, including moussaka & steak were authentic & tasty. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank juana1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Nick's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Uncle Nick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing