We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, tasty lunch”
Review of Katsuhama

Katsuhama
Ranked #3,643 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Herrliberg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, tasty lunch”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Yesterday's lunch was nice! My sashimi starter was excellent, I loved the salad that came with my curry katsu (chicken), which was very yummie. Unfortunately we did not get a table but were seated by the bar and if the tea refills would have been a bit faster, I would have been even happier! Excellent value for money!

Helpful?
Thank Mischa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    23
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent Tonkatsu lunch”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Decent Tonkatsu lunch for around $20. The place looks clean and the waiters are friendly and helpful should you need assistance. The place may be a bit cramped so don't expect to be able to hold a discreet conversation.

I tried the Surprise Katsu and my partner had the loin and filet Katsu lunch. The breaded, deep-fried pork was nice and comes accompanied on the plate by cabbage salad. Other side dishes include rice, miso soup and homemade pickles.

Don't hesitate to ask for more cabbage, soup and rice, provided for free.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous interior design, great food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great food, small cramped place, but beautiful interior design.

For a small place, they were still able to manage to divide dining into three areas: a private group dining room near the entrance, a sushi bar along the corridor and finally the main dining area at the end with small tables (this is where we ate and the tables were small and too close to the other customers).

Despite the tightness of the space, the seating is still reasonable. Also, it is compensated by the gorgeousness of the interior design (except for the mediocre bathroom - but I can forgive that). It highlights the best of Japanese minimalism but with a touch of New York's urban sleekness and coolness.

As for the food, delicious. I ordered the Berksheir (sorry, couldn't remember the right spelling) Katsu, some kind of breaded pork. Thick (a bit too thick for me) cuts of meat. Also, I thought I ordered the pricier bigger version but still found the serving small. Cooked well, tasted great. Their side sauce for the meat was delicious, even comes with a mortar and pestel to grind the sesame seeds to combine with their sauce.

The entree also comes with miso soup and salad. The salad equally has a very tasty dressing, made fresh. Tip: the salad is refillable (well-shredded fresh lettuce).

Overall, gorgeous interior design (urban minimalism), great food despite the place being small. I would come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Affordable & Great Food in Manhattan”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Pork tonkatsu is definitely a must every visit, very moist with crispy breading. Awesome experience making your own dipping sauce...(after watching a Japansese girl at the corner of my eye)...using the mortar & pestle, ground up the sesame seeds then mixed with the tonkasu sauce placed on a container on each table. This really made the entire experience as if you're in downtown Tokyo since the crowd is majority Japanese expats...a testament that it's the real deal Japanese cuisine in the middle of Manhattan.
Donburi (rice, onions, egg and katsu in a single bowl) is also very tasty...and cheaper than the main katsu entree.
Maguro Poki (tuna) is very fresh and recommended as an appetizer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeadowsValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good !!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I actually tried to get into kyo ya but they were full. This place don't look like much on the outside but don't be fooled. Very good original food very fresh ingredients. I will defenitely will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katsuhama also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Katsuhama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing