We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Korean vegan food will please everyone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hangawi

Hangawi
Ranked #312 of 13,477 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Korean vegan food will please everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

3rd time we've been here. Great food, generous portion sizes. Even the people on the table next to us, who didn't realise it was a vegan restaurant, loved the food. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank siambient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    140
    32
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our second veggie experience in the big apple and another great find. Really lovely atmosphere , you leave your shoes at the door and sit at the low tables. Staff were attentive and happy to explain the menu. Our group had a selection of starters to share then a main each and everything was yummy! With the lettuce wrap thingy being a star
would recommend for either veggie or non veggie

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsnowybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun experience but food is missing something”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We reserved a table for 2 to have dinner at Hangawi.
The location is nicely set up and it's fun to see people walk around in their socks. The atmosphere is very cozy and romantic. The staff was super friendly and very professional.

Sadly the food was not all that. It was good indeed but nothing special. Have the waiter recommend some dishes for you or go with the menu, which they offer.

Overall: Fun but nothing my taste buds will remember forever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had been waiting to try this restaurant for a while, finally got a chance to visit last night and was not disappointed. Great, relaxing atmosphere, extremely attentive and friendly staff and the food was great. So much choice, which for vegetarians is a rarity even in New York. The bill came to about 48 dollars for an entree, main and tea for one. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennaAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
373 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Unique experience, good vegetarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hangawi is in the middle of a section of Korean restaurants and businesses, not far from Herald Square. We had delicious veggie fritters with various dipping sauces, kale pancakes, a hot pot, and sizzling mushrooms. All were excellent --- anyone who likes other Asian cuisines will like Korean food. The organic house wine was actually very good.

When guests enters the restaurant, they must remove their shoes. The seats are on the floor but the space beneath the table is open so one sits quite normally. There is soft lighting including candles and it's quiet enough to have a conversation.

Our waiter was brusque and ungracious. The restaurant is very,expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hangawi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hangawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing