We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come with me to the Khasbah!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbes Restaurant

Barbes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,094 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
320 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Come with me to the Khasbah!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A quiet Sunday night in Murray Hill and we find that many local restaurants in the area are closed (unfortunately some permanently due to the ridiculous rent increases being demanded by greedy landlords). We find Barbes just opening up and as such very quiet as it remained for the rest of the evening. We really were not looking for French cuisine as we had eaten at DB Bistro Moderne the previous night and they might defy comparison. However, Barbes is truly diverse as it is a French-Moroccan restaurant . You feel as if you have just entered the Khasbah what with the Algerian-Moroccan art on the walls. Our server was a lovely young woman who appeared to be of mid eastern descent as did the woman Chef. Talk about authentic. We had a bottle of French wine and we enjoyed appetizers of garlic mussels and eggplant salad. My wife then had a very well prepared duck breast cooked rare over assorted rice and greens and I enjoyed a large Tuna Steak cooked rare over mixed greens and couscous. The wine list was priced fairly. The portions were very large and that was partly good and bad, as we prefer the large portions, but on the negative they may leave no room for desert, But we did share a Moroccan pastry. All in all, a pleasant evening at a fair price,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    57
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
2 reviews
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visiting NYC with our granddaughter...tired, hot and hungry...looking for a place to eat dinner and stopped to look in the window of Barbe's when the owner opened the door and welcomed us in. We were not disappointed. The food was wonderful and well priced . The servers were very attentive. Most of all our granddaughter was introduced to and loved the French Moroccan cuisine!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamcSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“too crowded and noisy to enjoy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Barbes is adorable, prices are affordable, the wine list is fine, the service eager to please and in addition the food is very good. So what's to complain? Our party of three arrived on time on a Friday evening. The host apologized that our table was not ready. We were seated at a larger table reserved for others and asked to wait. The room was extremely noisy. Actually too noisy to hear the person right beside you. Eventually the people came and were seated at their table. After we waited standing in the crowded little room, they pulled out at tiny table for two, set it right beside a table for two (that was two inches higher and maybe an inch or two bigger in each direction. By putting a chair on one side, they made it a table for three. It actually turned out that this pretend table, while not being big enough for three place settings and resting on our knees, was actually better because we were on top of each other and could almost hear.

Other than that, it was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING FIND!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

While visiting NYC on business, we wanted something a bit different. Barbes didn't disappoint. Like many NYC restaurants, the place is small and a bit crowded, however, the servers made us feel like we were the only ones there by being so attentive. Amazing food. Only regret not having room for dessert! Will definitely go back next time we're in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediterranean time zone”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food here is good and we have eaten here a few times in the last year. Authentic mediterranean cuisine, with great flavors. However the service appears to be in a Mediterranean time loop as the service can be slow and patchy. The last visit my partners appetizer did not arrive until the other three at the table had to finish theirs before it went cold. While apologies were made, it was a major irritant at the begiining of the meal. Tip for restaurant: when this happens - take it off the bill and create goodwill from the mistake, rather than leaving a bad taste.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbes Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Barbes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing