We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Place to eat”
Review of Beacon Restaurant - CLOSED

Beacon Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 56th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue
Transit: N/R line to 7th Avenue and 57th Street F line to 6th Avenue and 57th Street 4,5,6 to 59th Street and Lexington Avenue
Description: Appealing and inviting, that’s the great open fire cooking served up by acclaimed Chef Waldy Malouf at Beacon Restaurant. The bold flavors of Malouf’s cuisine are in perfect harmony with this high-energy atmosphere. Dishes like Wood Roasted Oysters with Shallots and Suckling Pig with Bitter Chocolate waken and delight the senses. Located in the heart of midtown Manhattan, Beacon’s open kitchen lets guests in on the action- and with a seat in “The Pit,” you’ll have the ultimate view of kitchen activities. Celebrate or relax with a cocktail from Beacon’s adventurous specialty drinks menu, which features tempting house creations as well as tried and true classics. Sleek and sophisticated, there are plenty of reasons why Beacon’s dining room has been full since opening in 1999.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great Place to eat”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Beacon Is another one of those standard eateries for our family. The prices are fair, the food is thoughtful and tasty and the restaurant is extremely family friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Mass
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beacon Disappoints”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Your Review:

Went to Beacon in July. Had a disappointing $100.00 lunch with two others. Out of our first dessert choice, offered a different one. Waitress came back a second time to say they were out of the one we were just offered. Dessert that was brought (3rd choice) was overly sweet and too heavy for summertime consumption. Wine ($15.00 glass) cleared before we were done, when we asked the busser if he mistakenly took the wine, he said yes and retrieved it from a tray of dirty dishes! Contacted management/chef who apologized and offered to refund check and give gift certificate. Sounds nice, right? 6 weeks and one reminder later, no such accomodation ever made. Beacon doesn't keep it's promise. Definitely find better food and service elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
“Beware - Tourist Trap”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Beacon is a tourist trap, and it is expensive given the poor quality of the food. We ate here on a Thursday night at 6:30pm because it was convenient as we had just arrived in New York for a three day stay. It took 50 minutes for our appetizer and two kid's hamburgers to arrive, and the hamburgers were raw. When we complained the manager said he would not charge us for the two hamburgers, but it still cost us $65 for a glass of wine and one appetizer. New York is full of good and great restaurants, so I would recommend that you not bother with Beacon. We will certainly not eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great service”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was a restaurant with pleasant art deco furnishings and decor. The food was of good quality, well presented. Service from our waiter, Adam, was first class. Our best dining experience on vacation in NYC.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
207 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of My All-Time Favorites”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Beacon has been a favorite restaurant of mine for years now, and I make it a point to go back whenever I'm in NYC. I've had excellent service there on multiple visits, and the food has always been outstanding.

Most recently, I went with my fiance and teenage stepdaughter for an early dinner after a day exploring NYC. We had the wood-grilled oysters and the flatbread pizza as appetizers, and they were both excellent. All entrees are served a la carte - I had the filet, my fiance had the special, which was spicy scallops, and our daughter had the Beacon burger. Our side dish was the garlic fries. Everything was delicious. My steak was perfectly cooked, the scallops were some of the best I've ever had, and the Beacon burger was very good.

I wish we'd saved room for dessert, because I know that chocolate chip souffle is just phenomenal, but we were just stuffed. I highly recommend Beacon for a dinner out, though it is a little expensive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marinerjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beacon Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing