We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been invited there and we have entertained there ”
Review of Asiate - CLOSED

Asiate
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Hell's Kitchen
Cross street: 60th Street between Broadway and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1, B, D, A and C Trains
Description: Asiate's modern American cuisine features sophisticated interpretations of traditional fare that is accented with artistic touches, presenting one of the most unique dining experiences in Manhattan. A combination of gracious service, inventive cuisine, stylish décor and stunning views ensure that the restaurant is a hit with both guests and locals alike.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent restaurant with the most refined and delicate flavours -
Seafood and beef were exceptional.
We went there a few times and each time it was the greatest pleasure to catch up in a beautiful atmosphere. The service is excellent. We have also entertained there a few years prior to the last visit.
Prices are on the expensive side but I cannot say I felt let down ever.
It was a special treat each time!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank aspergesparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear aspergesparis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences with us at Asiate. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoy the restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

Located at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, Asiate is an excellent choice for a great dinner. We ate here on a Saturday evening.

I had the cold carrot soup for appetizer and the Arctic Sea Char. The soup was okay; the sea char was excellent. The bread rolls served before dinner was not fresh, chewy and not warm (that's why I deduct one dot from the rating).

Service was very good and the views of Columbus Park and the city magnificent. Ambiance very nice albeit a bit chilly inside. Recommend you bring a light sweater or pashmina.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Expat-in-Cabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Expat-in-Cabarete,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your time with us at Asiate. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the views of Central Park along with the service our colleagues provided. Additionally, we appreciate your commentary as we are always seeking to improve upon our services for our guests.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

My mum and I visited Asiate for a mid morning breakfast. Very professional service from start to finish, very polite and friendly staff and attentive service at the table. The food was lovely and there was no rush for us to leave etc., Highly recommend Asiate for breakfast and the views of Central Park were exceptional! Thank you :)

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosielight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear rosielight,

Thank you very much for writing about your breakfast with us at Asiate. We are thrilled to learn how much you and your mother enjoyed the experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The view in this restaurant is jaw dropping. they also serve amazing mandarin food. the service can use some improvement. Make sure your table is confirmed and reserved before you head out to the restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank AlexH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear AlexH07,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Asiate. While we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the views, we also appreciate your commentary as we are always seeking to improve upon our services for our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Needing a nice dinner in a city with no shortage of choice for great dining, I opted for a view of Central Park and hence headed for Peninsula at Columbus Circle.
Arriving just before sunset, I was in time to chose from a variety of champagnes to watch the colours and lighting change over Central Park. The staff as you'd expect was superb and called me by name all night. The food was exquisite and what you'd expect to pay at a 5 star restaurant. Usually you get a view or good food but rarely do these two come together in such outstanding quality. I'll be back for sure.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank niceguy1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear niceguy1st,

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write about your dinner with us at Asiate. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the views along with the cuisine and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asiate also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.