We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finest Sushi”
Review of Masa

Masa
Ranked #1,752 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$999
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Finest Sushi”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have dined at Masa probably 5 times now. I will keep going there because there is no place like Masa when it comes to Sushi. Yes it is expensive but worth every penny. Masa is one of my favorite places to have sushi and I treat myself from time to time to great sushi.
Please if you are going to complain about Masa either you can not afford it or you have no clue what shushi is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueScooterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    40
    26
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“premium japanese”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Be prepard for 60 per person. You will see a high bill but the food and service are of great quality. I am cheap but the food was so good i couldnt complain. The location is great and that overhead has to be passed on to the customer. Excellent place to take your lady after spending a couple grand shopping downstairs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Out of this world, in every respect”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I love upscale sushi restaurants, and have experienced many around the world, including in Tokyo. The Masa experience is beyond compare. We had a incredible meal a week ago that I am still marveling at -- for the first tme trying blowfish, omi beef, fresh Alaskan king crab leg, and the best toro I've ever had. Masa himself was behind the sushi bar, but our server was called Fuji, and he was wonderful -- never once did the master have to look his way. We were in excellent hands. The cost is astronomical, but when you inquire about the ingredients and where they come from -- say, fresh wasabi root from the base of Mount Fuji -- somehow it all makes sense. My wallet can't do this often, but for a very very special occasion...WOW!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aipotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
1 review
“Great & Fresh!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went for the lunch time on Saturday. It wasn't busy as the weekdays. I love their plates a lot. It is little bit pricey but absolutely worth to dine in. Sushi and tempuras are their outstanding menus but the noodles are so good too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went for the afternoon menu- had the sushi tasting and the Pecking Duck tacos. Both are excellent, with fish as fresh as Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo. However, all this great food comes with a hefty price tag.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ProfJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masa also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Masa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing