We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably formal, spectacular dining!”

Il Tinello Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Tinello Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #646 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Betwen 5th Ave. and 6th Ave.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortably formal, spectacular dining!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

After a hard day of shopping or just a comfortable, formal enough dinner or perhaps a long romantic lunch, this is your spot!! This is the kind of old school perfection that will keep you coming back! The fact that no matter how long it's been since your last visit the Captain will never forget your name!! He's a real life superman! The bar is small and right in the entry way so not so inviting, but its the dining room and the food you come for anyway!

The perfectly recited menu (preformed by wait staff that have probably been there as long as the building itself) along with the table side preparations are real stand outs! Of course so is the penne arrabbiata and the meat sauce (to be counted on, fantastic comfort food!)

The wine list is fun- a book of labels for you to thumb through, quite pleasing by anyone's standards! On every trip to NY we make a point of at least one meal at Il Tinello! An experience you can count on being great every time!

(& Like Seinfeld said, don't forget to tip the Captain! No, seriously, don't forget...)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PleasantPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    51
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really good but big lapses in waiter coordination”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had dinner w an old friend. Nice place. Food excellent. Coordination of waiters very poor. Mixed up still vs. sparkling water to start and then continued throughout meal to poor still into the glass of sparkling my colleague had. More disturbingly, I have a very serious shell fish allergy and I was very clear about this when ordering. Unfortunately, they brought an anti pasta with lobster, crab and other shellfish. It is a good thing I asked as the plate did not look right. While the food was otherwise good, someone with serious allergies like me cannot afford these lapses by the waiters. We must have had three or four different ones who were attentive to be fair but there was absolutely no coordination between them during the service. We won't be back. Too bad. Great food and nice atmosphere. However service is a huge problem.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuler_dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Impressive ”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I eat in NYC at least once a month. I usually try a different restaurant each time after my favorite was destroyed by "Sandy". I have now found a restaurant to return to many times. Everything was wonderful ; food, wine, service and just the overall experience . We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing service and food”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The food was wonderful, but probably made even better by the old school service. I felt like I was living back "in the day". Tuxedo'd servers were there for everything, but not enough that it drove you nuts. Atmosphere was old world.....as if Frank Sinatra and Sammy Davis were about to walk in for dinner. Pricey, but it is NY. What is great about this place is that it is not a commercial tourist trap. Unless someone told you about it or you walked by, it is not really out for publication. Which is great......hidden secret. Expect to drop some cash for a dinner for two with apps/wine/dessert......but they threw in some after-dinner Limoncello on the house.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, DE
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Old School Perfection”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Il Tinello is one of the best Italian restaurants in NYC. I have not been here for three years but the restaurant has gotten better. It is small but elegant with an experienced staff that meets your every desire. The captains are knowledgeable about various dishes and offer enhancements that make dishes superb. The cold antipasto was perfect with some of the best prosciutto in the US. I requested extra prosciutto and it was piled high. The wine list is not extensive but it is packed with quality. I settled on the Chilean Sea Bass Livornaise, as a main course, and it was done to perfection. It is ok to ask for special prep of dishes or off the menu dishes. The Italian cheesecake was a great dessert and had to be homemade. It was moist and creamy unlike the bricks that are now frequently passing for Italian cheesecake. Despite the full house, no one rushed us to leave. You have to love this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Tinello Ristorante also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Tinello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing