We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunate mistake”
Review of Ristorante Grifone

Ristorante Grifone
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Grifone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,187 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: btwn 2nd and 3rd Ave.
Transit: Grand Central Terminal
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unfortunate mistake”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation for convienence and time expediency...so sorry I/we did. Lackluster atmosphere (your grandmother's dinning room circa 1960), rude, pounting staff and mean fare food at fine cuisine prices. NYC offers much better than this establishment. Don't be rushed or impulsive in choosing a restaurant-take some time and utilize a review site.

Helpful?
Thank redflstfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upstairs to heaven”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were tired, and didn't want the challenge of Haute Cuisine and haughty waiters. This place suited us very well. Good simple Italian fare matched to a well chosen wine list. Friendly and efficient service, and the waiter was a good enough salesman to tempt us to a shared slice of excellent chocolate gateau and send us on our way with a smile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF / P
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor food and poor service”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This old Manhattan spot needs CPR. Slow service from indifferent old men who make racist comments about the Hispanic servers, poor food with for example peas that were grey from a can, waiter who couldn't split a check, and all that for more $ than many better places. Skip this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When living in midtown Manhattan, my wife and I would dine at Grifone every Friday night. For several years before we married, Barbara would dine here by herself every week. She developed a great relationship with the owner, Mario, and his staff. Fortunately, I got a stamp of approval from the staff and was readily accepted at Barbara's table. The food at Grifone's is good and consistent. The service is great. I do not remember if I ever had a chance to review a menu, since we always accepted recommendations from the maitre d'. We never have had a bad evening at Ristorante Grifone. We make a point of stopping in every time we are back in NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickersonPondit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal in the city”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We came across this wonderful gem quite by accident. We were walking down towards the more residential sections and away from the midtown tourist spots. This was probably the best meal we had in the city in a week. Absolutely wonderful food, service and wine. The prices are reasonable. Smaller venue, probably good to have reservations, we just got lucky to get a table. Will definitely recommend this and return next trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WIsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Grifone also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ristorante Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing