We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophisticated charming elegant and fun!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkey Bar

Monkey Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkey Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #612 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$80
Cuisines: Bar, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Park and Madison
Transit: 4,5,6,N,Q,R at 60th or E,M at 5th Ave and 53rd St.
Description: Established in 1936, Monkey Bar was returned to its former glory in 2009 by Vanity Fair editor Graydon Carter. The dining room's lush red leather banquettes and dim, attractive lighting have restored the fizzy thrill of dining in a restaurant - both attractive and cozy - and harken back to a bygone era when a gentleman never left the house without a tie and a lady always had a pair of white gloves in her purse. Monkey Bar's menu boasts American classics alongside seasonal dishes using sustainable and organic products whenever possible.
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sophisticated charming elegant and fun!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The monkey bar has been around a very long time. It has been good and a great hangout to see and be seen
It is owned now by Graydon Carter. It is great for a drink before dinner . Its good for dinner and an after dinner cocktail. It is beautifuly located and a fun Friday night scene. Its a great scene all the time. Service and food is really good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    162
    59
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy proper chic bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Part of the Elysee Hotel, lovely bar with snacks - excellent selection of whiskies, armagnacs etc. A sophistiated choice - not one for families, great for business or couples.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fabfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but very good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

While in NYC Me and my friends where looking for a nice place with a really good atmosphere, This place looks kind of glamorous...

I can tell the place has pricey, but its services and goods make you enjoy the place without complains!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cport89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awful end to an evening on holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We dropped in before retiring to the Elysee hotel. We had done the same the evening before and put the charge to our room bill . We ordered 2 glasses of wine . The staff served my husband's in a balloon glass but mine in a small glass. This happened again . As we were due to pay I asked the waiter if there was the same charge made for the two different size servings . He didn't reply but the manager suddenly appeared.
He explained that there were two glasses in total but more had been given to my husband. Why? Was it because they knew we would put it on the room bill and the tipsier the guest the more they would drink? Very strange and unpleasant experience. We left never to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aSkylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
402 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Fun dacor , atmoshere and great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Located in the Alysia Hotel, Monkey Bar is not to be missed. The atmosphere is wonderful! Great murals and unusual seating, perfect for people watching. The menu was perfect, just the right amount of choices without being overwhelming. One of the best meals I had in New York, well worth the price. Service was impeccable. Well done and hats off to Monkey Bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Monkey Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing