We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment as massive as the sandwiches ”
Review of Katz's Deli

Katz's Deli
Get food delivered
Ranked #469 of 13,391 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

I was so looking forward to visiting here due to its reputation and style. Walking in we weren’t disappointed, it was buzzing and looked very cool. Watching the sandwiches go past as we waited for a table out mouths were watering. Marti was our waiter and he was very friendly. We ordered 2 pastrami and 1 brisket sandwiches and an American cheese one for our vegetarian daughter. When the food came the disappointment kicked in. There was so much cheese we had to take some out and smuggle it home to save her embarrassment (she said she was sweating when she saw it coming!!) The pastrami was very fatty and not all what we were expecting. There was nothing else in the sandwich but meat and it wasn’t clear what you could add, in hindsight maybe we should have asked but we wouldn’t have been able to eat it anyway. It’s very expensive too. We left feeling very disappointed. I would give the place a miss if I were you.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (17,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 427 of 17,367 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

We visited this deli on a Wednesday evening and we're greeted by the lovely staff and had the choice to wait 10-15 minutes for waiter service or join a queue to order and then find a table. We chose the waiter service and had a short waiting time and were seated in the canteen styled eating area. We were soon greeted by our welcoming waiter. After we ordered, our drinks came almost instantly and they were very pleasant. For the food we had three meat sandwiches and (due to there being a vegetarian in the family) a cheese sandwich. The vegetarian options were very limited so wouldn't recommend for a semi-vegetarian family. There is an option on the menu to add extra fillings but none appealed to us. We waited around 20 minutes for our food to arrive. When it did we were presented with three huge sandwiches FILLED to the brim with meat, however the cheese sandwich was just the same! Seventeen layers of American cheese sliced between two pieces of bread. The worst thing was that there was bits of pastrami on the bread where it had been cut with the same knife as a meat sandwich, defeating the point of it being for a vegetarian! We struggled to eat the sandwiches which was a shame considering the price, we paid around $18.95 per sandwich! Overall would recommend for the classic American deli atmosphere but would not recommend for an evening meal unless you LOVE meat and are willing to pay the expensive bill.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank libbyy5276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

We went because it's Katz's. The pastrami was delicious and they delivered a large portion. the worst part was getting a seat. The crowd did thin out after the afternoon rush. If you want a sandwich you go to one part of the counter, If you want a drink you have to go to the far end to get that. if you want a hot dog you have to go to the front end, though our sandwich cutter was polite enough to go get one for us.
Most of the crowd seemed to be just like us, tourists. It is not a cheap sandwich but, I have no complaints because I wanted to eat there. I was not disappointed by our experience.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jdcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

Fantastic place to eat!!! Visit their website before you go so that you are familiar with the "process" of ordering and paying for your meal! PASTRAMI is to die for.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

It is crowded and touristy but a fun restaurant. We arrived before noon so our wait wasn't long, our service was fast and the food well prepared. My husband had the pastrami sandwich which he loved, I had the reuben which I could only eat half of - the portions are huge. Most of all it is a fun place to read the wall of photos to learn of its history and to say that you too have eaten at Katz!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank teresa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katz's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.