We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Bar Extreme”
Review of The Sunburnt Cow - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Sunburnt Cow
Price range: US$21 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: East Village
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dive Bar Extreme”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Ugly, dark, crowded interior. An investment in upholstery would be nice. The benches were all torn up and uncomfortable. Smoke blowing in from outside. The bar ran out of a number of tap beers, on a Friday night? Not an environment I'd like to return to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You won't get Sunburnt inside”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This cow is dark inside. Better for the young crowd. Was not very inviting. Nice selection of beers on tap, No chilled mugs. Beer was't cold. Didn't stay for food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPAnRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for a boozy brunch with friends”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I recently went to the sunburnt cow for a Saturday brunch with a large group of friends. $20-25 for bottomless drinks (mimosas, screwdrivers, corkscrews) + your choice of brunch entree. The food is very good, particularly for the price. There is an excellent variety including pancakes, benedict, hamburger, omelette etc. The Queen Adelaide (poached eggs with salmon and avocado on a muffin) was incredible and exceeded my expectations.
The Sunburnt Cow is perfect if you're looking for a boozy brunch with friends. However, perhaps look somewhere else if you're looking for a quiet brunch as it gets rather busy and noisy at the weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rach59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Crazy busy & a young crowd for brunch”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Well--with unlimited mimosas and near a university, what do you expect? This place is dark, small, and very crowded with people lining the walls for hours waiting for a place to sit. We got lucky--after being told it would be an hour and a half, we were seated at the bar within 30 minutes. The food was awesome--eggs benedict, crab cakes, and sausage to die for--and the service was great in spite of how crazy busy they were. Not sure I'd do the long walk to get there again for the ambiance though....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank b-squared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Totally over-hyped.”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Totally over-hyped. It leaves you confused and wondering if you are experiencing a wild party from the prior night, or if you just have a really bad hangover. It's a great place to go if you want to drink during the day, in the pitch darkness. Or if your solution for a hangover is to... just drink some more. They do have an all you can drink special, but I found that the drinks aren't fresh and have obviously cheap quality.
There's something about this place that didn't really settle well with me. I can appreciate the fact that it is a total hipster spot, so I suppose they are going for the "what you see is what you get" look.
They have a limited menu, so I ordered the egg white veggie omelette. Kind of greasy. I really don't have anything good to say about it.
Meh. I've literally had better. If I were you, I'd find a different place for a weekend brunch. Unless you're looking for a fratty booze-fest. Then, go for it! After all, your weekend is usually well deserved if you live in Manhattan.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Johanna_Clyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sunburnt Cow also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing