We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargin for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bargin for NYC”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We called several hotel chains we generally use and received 'sticker shock'! NYC is a very expensive city to visit if you don't have relatives or friends that will share their dwellings. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we called the Courtyard Marriott and booked our room. This is a fairly new hotel in a very convenient location in Times Square. The price of the room was "a lot cheaper" than other hotels -- a true bargin. We had been told NY hotel rooms were small, but our room was pretty much the same size as other Courtyards we have visited. We arrived late at nite -- 1:30 a.m. -- and found the front desk people to be extremely friendly. Bedroom and Bathroom were clean and furnished nicely. The view from our room was strange. We were on the 13th floor (the hotels in our city omit using the no. 13 -- you go from the 12th Floor to the 14th Floor). We overlooked a courtyard with an extremely old industrial building attached to a modern apt./condo. We had breakfast in The Bistro which was decorated nicely. The prices were a bit high, but it was convenient and the staff were friendly. Upon checking out, there were new faces at the front desk and they were just as helpful and friendly as the nite staff. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for the comments about our Friendly Staff. We take great pride in providing excellent service with a great attitude. I will share your comments with our Staff. Have a great weekend and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    404
    71
    18
    20
See reviews for
322
321
53
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel is located about 5 streets from Times Square, many subway stations around, includes Penn Station - very convenient. Rooms are big, designed and comfortable. Hotel's restaurant offers breakfast and dinner and Starbucks coffee. Staff is super friendly and most important - hotel is brand new, and it feels like it. Awesome NYC experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuvalTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We are excited to hear you had an awesome experience. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I could have done better than the $559 a night I paid for this room but had been too lazy to shop around. The room felt cramped for two people but was perfectly clean and well kept. If you plan to stay more than one night and like to unpack forget this hotel as there are no drawers to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suger1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. It is through feed back from our guests where we can improve in our service. I am surprised to hear that you stated there were no drawer space. We do have drawers in every one of our guest rooms. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. If you should decide to return, please contact me and I will personally take care of your reservation with an upgrade.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Short Blocks away from everything - Times Square, Broadway, buses, Subway! The employees offer everything you need! Awesome price for the location! This hotel used to be where clothes were kept - so the hotel/room are BRAND NEW! Showers are great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrearobmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property. Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We loved the hotel, cute, small and convenient, close to Times Square and everything really!!! But the best, without a doubt, was the staff, Maria Pozzo -- hats off to you Maria and your staff--!!, beautiful, sweet girl who went above and beyond to help us to have the best stay!!, well, Amy Jovel, was outstanding as well, everyday she was there at the front desk, to greet us and give us the tips about the city, the best!! Keith, thank you for that recommendation for sunday brunch!! yummo!! AJ and Jason were awesome as well, helping us with wake up calls, and express checkout, super efficient service. the nice tall man at the bistro, had the best smile in town and help us as well. and last but not least, the nice girl form Russia at the concierge desk, help us with the best Tour we ever had, nycseeing ferry, we enjoyed too.
We loved the hotel, and most of all, the hotel staff, awesome people, the best hospitality we have experience ever, endless thank you to all of you guys and we will be back soon!!! This is our news nyc hotel and we can't wait until we see you again!!! lots of love!!! Marla and Julie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Wow, thank you for the great comments about our Staff. I do agree, we have an awesome team. They will be happy to hear you enjoyed our service. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and we look forward to your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Pros
-The staff was friendly and helpful
-The property looks new and is very clean
-The location is convenient to Penn Station
-Free wifi

Cons
-My room was small; I was a little surprised by it because they offer rooms with two queen beds for the same price as a room with one king. No chance you could have fit two queen beds in that room--it barely fit the king.
-The a/c in the room was very loud. A loud but constant hum might have been okay, but this made more of a disruptive, labored noise.

Overall, it's a nice hotel in NYC for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the loud AC system in your room. We have made the necessary repairs to that unit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our services from our Staff. We hope to see you again in on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I recommend this hotel to everyone. Good service, good location, good guy James, so atencious. The room could be a little bit larger, but it worth it. Very quick check in and check out. Near of everything in Manhattan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its location. Thank you for the positive comments about James. I will share this with him and the rest of our Staff.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing