We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed every aspect of my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #146 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I enjoyed every aspect of my stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been staying at many different hotels other than the Marriott with family and friends and I never seen such great service given from the front desk to the restaurant. But the one thing that stroke me the most was the smiles the positive energy. I stayed with a few friends from Vegas and we truly did enjoy our stay. A young woman in the Bistro buffet Towana greeted me with a warm smile and a good morning for two consecutive days. I was shocked to see her so energized and ready to take on someone who did not have a cup of coffee. I dined in and she made sure my order was just the way i wanted it. She was AMAZING! Thank you! But overall the energy she have is outstanding, professional and outgoing. Also the room service was an A+. Best staff ever! Thank you Marriott I will be there again.

Room Tip: Defiantly will recommend this hotel to friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding our Towana and our entire Staff. Here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West, we take great pride in providing outstanding service to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to your next trip to New York.


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    415
    75
    23
    22
See reviews for
338
333
57
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Everything was good during our 3-night stay at this centrally located hotel. We heard no noise from either inside or outside the hotel, the room was not huge but well-decorated, clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent, the bathroom large with a good shower, the elevators were efficient and the staff extremely friendly. There is free WiFi and two computers for the use of guests in the lobby.

The hotel is between 8th and 9th Avenue and a couple of blocks from the subway. There are some excellent restaurants just around the corner on 9th north of 37th. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and prices are reasonable with plenty of seating. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced a condo and old industrial building next door but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liplord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
It is great to hear you had an "Excellent Experience" at our property. We take great pride in providing that excellent service to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is a good option in NYC. The rooms are fairly spacious by New York City standards, and everything is very new and clean (as of Sept 2013). I had a king room on the 2nd floor in the back - no view but completely quiet, which I liked. There was a large chair in the room, which was nice because I had a place to sit while I watched TV (a lot of NYC hotel rooms just have a bed). The work desk was also rather large. Bathroom was good size, but the sink area felt a bit cramped.

I don't think the location is amazing though - it's close to Times Square, but I definitely think of this area as more like Hell's Kitchen. It's on a street with a food cart warehouse so walking down the street in the evening is a bit annoying as you dodge all the carts coming back. 37th Street is also very loud so be prepared if you get a room facing 37th.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank vdbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York City.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We called several hotel chains we generally use and received 'sticker shock'! NYC is a very expensive city to visit if you don't have relatives or friends that will share their dwellings. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we called the Courtyard Marriott and booked our room. This is a fairly new hotel in a very convenient location in Times Square. The price of the room was "a lot cheaper" than other hotels -- a true bargin. We had been told NY hotel rooms were small, but our room was pretty much the same size as other Courtyards we have visited. We arrived late at nite -- 1:30 a.m. -- and found the front desk people to be extremely friendly. Bedroom and Bathroom were clean and furnished nicely. The view from our room was strange. We were on the 13th floor (the hotels in our city omit using the no. 13 -- you go from the 12th Floor to the 14th Floor). We overlooked a courtyard with an extremely old industrial building attached to a modern apt./condo. We had breakfast in The Bistro which was decorated nicely. The prices were a bit high, but it was convenient and the staff were friendly. Upon checking out, there were new faces at the front desk and they were just as helpful and friendly as the nite staff. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for the comments about our Friendly Staff. We take great pride in providing excellent service with a great attitude. I will share your comments with our Staff. Have a great weekend and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel is located about 5 streets from Times Square, many subway stations around, includes Penn Station - very convenient. Rooms are big, designed and comfortable. Hotel's restaurant offers breakfast and dinner and Starbucks coffee. Staff is super friendly and most important - hotel is brand new, and it feels like it. Awesome NYC experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuvalTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We are excited to hear you had an awesome experience. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I could have done better than the $559 a night I paid for this room but had been too lazy to shop around. The room felt cramped for two people but was perfectly clean and well kept. If you plan to stay more than one night and like to unpack forget this hotel as there are no drawers to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suger1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. It is through feed back from our guests where we can improve in our service. I am surprised to hear that you stated there were no drawer space. We do have drawers in every one of our guest rooms. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. If you should decide to return, please contact me and I will personally take care of your reservation with an upgrade.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Short Blocks away from everything - Times Square, Broadway, buses, Subway! The employees offer everything you need! Awesome price for the location! This hotel used to be where clothes were kept - so the hotel/room are BRAND NEW! Showers are great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrearobmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property. Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#230 of 466 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
746 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 466 in New York City
846 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 466 in New York City
641 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#221 of 466 in New York City
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing