We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early October and our stay was fantastic.

The hotel is fairly new with updated amenities, comfortable beds, and nice decor and textures throughout the room. Although the room was small (as most NYC rooms are) it had everything we needed. The bathroom was roomy and the shower was good.

The staff was welcoming, friendly, and energetic at all times. Keith did an excellent job at making our stay smooth and seamless since I had individual reservations for each of the three nights. He was helpful and friendly with any request. I was particularly impressed with the high quality of the housekeeping staff too.

The hotel has a comfortable indoor and outdoor area if you choose to purchase food at the bistro and/or bring back something to eat from outside. It's a great retreat space to get away from the hustle of the city.

The only recommendation I would make to the management is to move the concierge desk as it 1) congests the traffic flow from the front door to the elevators and 2) doesn't provide much privacy in discussing matters with the concierge.

Overall we were extremely pleased. We would return to this hotel anytime we are in the city. Great location, great staff, great room. Top notch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I am glad to hear Keith and the rest of our Associates provided excellent service. I will share your comments with them. We are happy to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    395
    70
    18
    19
See reviews for
320
319
49
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We checked in without any problems although we were a few hours earlier than normal with an extremely friendly young lady at the front desk. Our room was small but wonderful with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was spotless and the shower a joy.

What I appreciated most about this hotel was that it easy to walk just about anywhere. Although we had breakfast included in our rate, the concierge suggested eating at TickTock diner a couple of blocks away. Lovely!

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher up = better view over Manhattan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 573Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is centrally located close to many attractions. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments and we look forward to your next trip to the Big Apple.

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been staying at many different hotels other than the Marriott with family and friends and I never seen such great service given from the front desk to the restaurant. But the one thing that stroke me the most was the smiles the positive energy. I stayed with a few friends from Vegas and we truly did enjoy our stay. A young woman in the Bistro buffet Towana greeted me with a warm smile and a good morning for two consecutive days. I was shocked to see her so energized and ready to take on someone who did not have a cup of coffee. I dined in and she made sure my order was just the way i wanted it. She was AMAZING! Thank you! But overall the energy she have is outstanding, professional and outgoing. Also the room service was an A+. Best staff ever! Thank you Marriott I will be there again.

Room Tip: Defiantly will recommend this hotel to friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding our Towana and our entire Staff. Here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West, we take great pride in providing outstanding service to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to your next trip to New York.


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
180 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Everything was good during our 3-night stay at this centrally located hotel. We heard no noise from either inside or outside the hotel, the room was not huge but well-decorated, clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent, the bathroom large with a good shower, the elevators were efficient and the staff extremely friendly. There is free WiFi and two computers for the use of guests in the lobby.

The hotel is between 8th and 9th Avenue and a couple of blocks from the subway. There are some excellent restaurants just around the corner on 9th north of 37th. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and prices are reasonable with plenty of seating. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced a condo and old industrial building next door but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liplord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
It is great to hear you had an "Excellent Experience" at our property. We take great pride in providing that excellent service to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is a good option in NYC. The rooms are fairly spacious by New York City standards, and everything is very new and clean (as of Sept 2013). I had a king room on the 2nd floor in the back - no view but completely quiet, which I liked. There was a large chair in the room, which was nice because I had a place to sit while I watched TV (a lot of NYC hotel rooms just have a bed). The work desk was also rather large. Bathroom was good size, but the sink area felt a bit cramped.

I don't think the location is amazing though - it's close to Times Square, but I definitely think of this area as more like Hell's Kitchen. It's on a street with a food cart warehouse so walking down the street in the evening is a bit annoying as you dodge all the carts coming back. 37th Street is also very loud so be prepared if you get a room facing 37th.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank vdbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York City.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We called several hotel chains we generally use and received 'sticker shock'! NYC is a very expensive city to visit if you don't have relatives or friends that will share their dwellings. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we called the Courtyard Marriott and booked our room. This is a fairly new hotel in a very convenient location in Times Square. The price of the room was "a lot cheaper" than other hotels -- a true bargin. We had been told NY hotel rooms were small, but our room was pretty much the same size as other Courtyards we have visited. We arrived late at nite -- 1:30 a.m. -- and found the front desk people to be extremely friendly. Bedroom and Bathroom were clean and furnished nicely. The view from our room was strange. We were on the 13th floor (the hotels in our city omit using the no. 13 -- you go from the 12th Floor to the 14th Floor). We overlooked a courtyard with an extremely old industrial building attached to a modern apt./condo. We had breakfast in The Bistro which was decorated nicely. The prices were a bit high, but it was convenient and the staff were friendly. Upon checking out, there were new faces at the front desk and they were just as helpful and friendly as the nite staff. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for the comments about our Friendly Staff. We take great pride in providing excellent service with a great attitude. I will share your comments with our Staff. Have a great weekend and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel is located about 5 streets from Times Square, many subway stations around, includes Penn Station - very convenient. Rooms are big, designed and comfortable. Hotel's restaurant offers breakfast and dinner and Starbucks coffee. Staff is super friendly and most important - hotel is brand new, and it feels like it. Awesome NYC experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuvalTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We are excited to hear you had an awesome experience. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing