We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The service and atmosphere was great. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. I wouldn't pay more money for a city view room since all you see is the side of another building, but it was a great hotel. Great location and not too expensive. Would book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    395
    70
    18
    19
See reviews for
320
319
49
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great hotel at a a great price for us. In the city for the weekend and needed a well located hotel and this met our needs. Friendly staff, clean, quiet, and located just out of the main action so as not to be noisy but close enough to get wherever we needed. King room was small but that is NYC. Main lobby is pretty tight and no-frills but we didn't need anything more - just a quality place to crash at night. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are happy to hear you considered us a great hotel and you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marina del rey, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed with 3 friends for an annual New York get together. We had booked two rooms with two double beds. When we arrived they were overbooked on the rooms with 2 double beds and gave us 4 rooms with king beds for the first of our 3 nights at same price. I thought the location was excellent, close to Times Square. The rooms were very nice and we saved a lot of money and time in lines for elevators by staying here as opposed to our usual Marriott Marquis location. I would definitely recommend to Manhattan travelers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rscott14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We do apologize for not having the room type you booked when you first arrived. I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate you with the 4 rooms. We look forward to seeing you next year on your annual trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was recently renovated which is a huge plus as it's not easy to find a hotel in NY where everything feels pretty new. The location is quite good, on 37th between 8th and 9th Avenues so it's a short walk to Times Square and to Herald Square / Madison Square Garden. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and we were especially happy with the housekeeping staff. The rooms are spacious enough, not what you would call big, but a good size for what you would expect to find in NY.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding our Housekeeping Department. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you again here at The Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights on september 23-26, we got a great experience, front desk so friendly, the housekeeping so nice, planning our next trip next year, and for sure we are staying here again, only thing that I can say it bothers me was that the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night, beside that I have no complains

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Being on 37th St ... initial thoughts were noisy room from the street below ... not, quiet and comfortable room. Staff was extremely friendly .. from the moment we pulled up to the front door abd was greeted by the doorman (who remembered us 7 hours later!) ... Front desk personnel attentive and friendly. I

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor ... we were on 26 ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Associates take great pride in providing excellent service for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent 4 nights here at the end of September for a long weekend in NYC. I had originally planned to stay at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square but after seeing the rates, I chose this Courtyard. I'm glad I did!

The hotel is located in the Garment District but it's an easy 3 block stroll to Times Square. After seeing all the people, hawkers and character costumes looking for photo takers we were glad to be in the quiet but convenient location just a short walk away.

There are subway stations within 2 blocks walking north or south, depending on which line you need. The street out front gets a little congested so getting a taxi can be tricky but if you walk over to 8th or 9th ave (depending on which way you're going) you can easily grab a cab.

The hotel is brand new so everything is in new condition. Room was a reasonable size for NYC, even with a king bed. From our 22nd floor window, we had a peek a boo view of the Empire State Building.

Staff were all friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze and Amy was very helpful with a map, directions and suggestions. Every time we encountered a staff member they greeted us warmly and inquired about or stay and if we needed anything at all. Don't know what more you could ask for from a hotel staff.

I'll definitely choose this Courtyard again. Can't beat the location, service and price!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 37th st on high floors have an Empire State Building view. Be careful of the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JFredPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We appreciate all the kind words regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I am happy to hear all the positive comments regarding Keith and the rest of our Associates. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing