We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for a Family Thanksgiving Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #149 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend -- it's located on 37th Street West and 8th Avenue. Three blocks from Penn Subway Station and five blocks from the 42nd Street Subway Station. It was a great location, not right in the middle of things, but perfectly fine. The room was great, the staff extremely nice, good food and great housekeeping service. We rode the subway all weekend with a $31 7-day unlimited Metro Card. I wasn't sure how much we would use the subway but we rode it many times each day and didn't take a single cab except to and from LaGuardia. The only confusion was express versus local subways -- ask your hotel to explain how to tell the difference on your map. The Macy's Day Parade was really fun -- we meant to get up early but didn't and arrived at 67th St and Central Park West about 8am for the parade at 9am. We did have people in front of us but we had a decent view. My teenage kids didn't realize though that we wouldn't see any of the performances there -- they must have performed on TV farther down. A stool or milk carton to sit on would have been nice while waiting -- smart folks got there early and sat on steps or windowwells or other things. Someone walked by selling stools for $15, 2 for $25, but it was too late to be worth it. After the parade, use an app to find a public restroom. The Starbucks we went to closed their bathroom, which I didn't appreciate. However the line would have been forever. Highly recommend Jane Restaurant and the Radio City Xmas Spectacular. We had no safety problems at all even after dark. People were really nice and helpful. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for your Thanksgiving Weekend. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We will share your positive comments with our Associates and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel was modern and immaculately clean. The most outstanding thing about this property, however, was definitely the service. We interacted with staff on every shift over a few days and did not encounter even one slightly unhappy or unprofessional individual. Everyone was eager to serve and help in ways we did not even ask for. The front desk person provided my teenage daughter with a map and advice for the younger traveler, the bellman offered to arrange cabs, provide directions, store bags, etc. before we could even request services. Bags were picked up and delivered to our room at lightning speed both at arrival and departure. Food was a bit expensive though not outrageous and quality was excellent. We also really liked that the rooms had two queen beds rather than the double beds that are common in this price range in NYC. My husband is tall so double beds annoy him.

The one downside of this hotel would be for travelers not familiar with the area. This hotel is not in Times Square and the location is slightly shady though not terrible. The tremendous upside of this location is that it is fairly convenient to Times Square and also to Penn Station.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Wow, we are happy to hear your great comments regarding our Staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We take great pride in providing excellent service that exceeds guest expectations. I will definitely share your comments with our Staff, so they know they did a great job. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York City.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was my first time to NY but not my husbands as he travels there for work. Unfortunately he can't compliment where he stays anywhere near to the extent he could the Courtyard by Marriott 37th street, NY. All staff we encountered were VERY helpful & courteous, rooms were clean & modern, power points everywhere which is just as handy to the holiday traveller as it is the business one these says. Great location & affordable & close to plenty of restaurants/deli's/convenience stores. I look forward to staying again on our next visit to NY.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West as your hotel to stay at on your first trip to New York. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the services from our excellent Staff. We hope you enjoyed New York and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our City.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Last week my family and I took our first trip to New York City and stayed at this hotel for 5 days and nights. We were all very impressed and happy with the excellent service we received from the staff and our hotel stay; we felt the need to share our experience with others.

From the moment we stepped out of the car we were met with a friendly smile and a warm greeting from James DeLos Reyes the doorman (who later was the same person who brought up our bags very quickly and kindly). He made us feel very welcomed and comfortable like we were just at home. Being from Hawaii, we thought we wouldn't find great hospitality here in a crowded, big, busy city but we found it here at this hotel. Every day and night we were there, we felt the same way we did when we first arrived up until the last remaining minutes before we checked out.

The room is a bit smaller as compared to other rooms by Courtyard Marriott but that is expected in New York City. The size was still comfortable and it was very clean and modern. It really had everything that we needed. I also loved and appreciated that there were a few places to chit chat with friends and family in the lobby area, as well as watch a little TV, a study area to look over the map and make itenerary plans of the city, as well as a computer and printer where guest can work, browse online, print documents, etc. This was very helpful for us to plan out a trip we would never forget.

Staying at the Courtyard Marriott in New York Times Square West will truly be an experience my family and I will never forget. Now, every other hotel we stay at will always be compared to this hotel. Actually after this trip we stayed at The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nevada and I must say was very dissapointed with their service. The suite looks gorgeous but it didn't quite live up to the experience we had at this hotel and therefore our stay there was just regretful. I most definitely do recommend staying here at the Courtyard Marriott NYTS West. You won't regret it! =)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennica Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding our hotel and Staff here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are glad you had a wonderful and memorable experience as a guest at our hotel. It was nice to hear that you compared our service to that warm and hospitable service from your home state of Hawaii. Your comments will be shared with our Staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I took my daughter to NYC for a birthday trip and the Courtyard by Marriott was absolutely perfect. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and kind, and the room was extremely clean and nicely decorated. It is small, but that is to be expected in the city. The price was better than many other similar hotels, and it is close to Times Square and the Garment District. The hotel cafe was fine, but very expensive. If you head to 9th Ave instead, you'll find some great restaurants to try and even a good diner for breakfast. I will definitely stay here again any time we are in New York.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank maureenfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Happy Birthday to your Daughter and thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for this special occaision. I am glad to hear you had a positive experience with our hotel and Staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked this hotel on a reccomendation from a friend, was so glad I did ! Great location for enjoying Manhattan, not a far walk from Penn station, very walkable to Times Square and Theater district too. The staff entirely were without a doubt the most accomodating and helpful hotel staff we have ever encountered ! In addition the facility was very clean and comfortable with room decor that was lovely and up to date. Better price with our AAA discount than other less centrally located major chain hotels in the area. Our stay was great and much too brief, will definitely return to the Courtyard Marriott Times Square West for our next NYC trip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank barb3779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Well, we want to thank your friend for reccomending our hotel and we are happy to hear you had a great experience stay at our hotel, Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff takes great pride in providing outstanding service for our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We found the hotel very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of many attractions. The hotel was reasonably priced and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your recommendations on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its services. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 473 in New York City
1,272 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#220 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#157 of 473 in New York City
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#131 of 473 in New York City
808 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#129 of 473 in New York City
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £111 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing