We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First trip to New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean and new hotel. Shower was spotless! Often had someone to greet you at the door. Quick and pleasant check-in. We were able to check in early and drop our bags and hit the town. We had Starbucks coffee and pastries from downstairs one day. Price was higher than what I am used to other places but seemed in line with other places in New York. We could see Empire State building and river from our room. Close to Times Square and Broadway plays. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 27th floor and occasionally heard car horns but you probably can't escape that st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashvilleTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for your first time in New York. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing superior service to all of our Guests. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    394
    70
    18
    19
See reviews for
319
319
49
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for a trade show. The rooms were small but very nice. The staff, especially James the Bellman were extremely friendly and helpful. James went out of his way to help me with a lot of boxes and even took them down to the nearby garage to load in my car. I will be staying there a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our services here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding James and the rest of our Staff. I will certainly share your feedback with them, to let them know the great job they are doing. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, both bellboys were very friendly! Blonde concierge and Reception manager should be more friendly though. Hotel is clean and most staff are very friendly! Just one thing they should improve is having constant coffee at the canteen available 24/7. I will def come again next time I'll come to New York!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the nice comments regarding our Bell Staff. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will share your comment about the coffee with our Food and Beverage Manager. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for five nights in May. Location absolutely can't be beat if you goal is the theatre district. 5-10 minutes walk depending on crowds. 5 minute walk to the subway if you want to get further away. Lots of little delis and ethnic eateries in the neighborhood. Too pricey, but that is the nature of NYC. Wi-Fi worked really well, which is rare, and it was free. Staff were friendly and greeted us on entry every time. Room was a small (this is NYC) but very comfortable and very clean. Could have used a more comfortable chair. Only complaint was the loud elevator music. Rarely ever had to wait for an elevator, which was very nice. Breakfast not included, but there were tons of quick, cheap places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise, but it is never quiet in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoDDSTravelingteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our property. We are within walking distance to many famous New York City attractions and transportation such as bus and subway. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and we look forward to your next trip to the Big Apple.


Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I just took my third long weekend to NYC this year, all three times staying at this property. The location is amazing! Walking distance to the train, Times Square, and the theater district. Long walk to Central Park, but if the weather is nice who cares? The staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly. We especially like Ryan who is always helpful with the bags and has great knowledge of restaurants and places to go. My ONLY complaint would be that the street noise was a bit loud, but this time only. It was if the window were open, but it wasn't. I don't remember this being an issue on my previous two trips. There is no actual hotel parking, but there is a garage one block past hotel that we always use. This hotel has easy access to the Lincoln tunnel making it crazy easy to drive in and out of the city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for being a repeat guests or ours here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are excited to hear that Ryan and the rest of our Staff provided excellent service in each of your stays. We take great pride in providing exceptional service to all of our guests. I will definitely share your feedback with them. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first time in New York and I stayed here for 5 days. It was an amazing location. 5 minute walk to Times Square and the Empire State Building. There were multiple available bus stops for the bus tour with a few blocks of every direction. Restaurants on every corner. Quick access to the subway. The hotel itself was impeccably clean. You had to use your room key to access the elevator which made me feel extremely safe. Also the hotel offers a bistro where we had Starbucks coffee and a full assortment of breakfast choices every morning. There was even a bit of a mixup with one of the activities we booked through the hotel concierge and the manager David quickly and gladly remedied the situation. I would stay here again and again and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jupiternative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and all of its amenities. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I am sorry for the problems you encountered with our Concierge services. I am glad I was able to take care of the situation. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and it was a very good experience all around! Easy to get to Penn Station, very quick and simple walk to several entrances to the subways. All the common areas are always very clean. Our room with two queen beds was kept neat as a pin, too. The staff members are all so attentive and cheerful. I would stay here again, for sure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and taking the time to share your great experience here at the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, close to many attractions and transportation. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing