We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel..reasonable price! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel..reasonable price! ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week in May for our first trip to New York. Very clean, friendly staff, nice rooms . The only 2 negatives -- wasn't keen on the location would have much preferred to stay between times Sq and Central Park rather than the opposite end. Also there's an outdoor area at the bar however your not allowed to smoke?! Which means you have to walk right through the hotel to the main front door and stand on the road to have a cigarette and again the area isn't the best so that's the only thing we could knock! Would recommend a non-smoker who isn't bothered about location to stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren_84x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. Please accept our apologies on the limitations of our smoking areas. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    404
    71
    18
    20
See reviews for
322
321
53
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have to give this hotel 5 stars simply because any negatives you can come up with are quickly overwhelmed by all the positives.
The greeting by staff was fantastic. It was the hotels first birthday and the staff were obviously pleased about it. Bar staff were equally as good with nothing being too difficult for them. The hotel is new and still has that new feel to it however, and this is really my only problem, the rooms are very small. My wife and I and three suitcases is the limit for the room, but it is New York and what are you doing sitting in your room? They are clean the bathroom is big enough and the water is always hot.
Times Square is five minutes walk, the same as so many other things including the subway. Two important items to note, there is a drop laundry on the other side of the street towards 9th avenue, great value and efficient, and continuing on to the corner at 9th avenue there is a little deli/supermart for an easy cheap breakfast or that missing grocery item.
No need to mention bars, restaurants and tourist attractions, these are in both directions when you go out the front door and it is New York.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel, the service from our Associates and the location of our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We are sorry you did receive a smaller room, please let me know the next time you are in New York and I can personally take care of assigning you a larger room. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent New Year's holiday with my girlfriend in this hotel and it was perfect. The room is big and the staff always smiling and willing to help. Accepts packages for te costumers with no estras fees, have a great coffe and a soft bed. The location is very good too! Just a few blocks from Time Square. Probably be there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in lower floors have street noises, but nothing impossible to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesireeLourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for staying with Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for the new year. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing the best possible service to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Despite great reviews, I had held back expectations for the Courtyard being more familiar with the JW Marriott brand. A comfortable bed and clean room was about all needed. Location was within walking distance of most of Midtown, though on a side street that looked a little quiet. Bed and room expectations were met, with the small room size anticipated but not a big deal.

What made the difference was the staff - exceptionally friendly and helpful, a genuine effort in caring for guests. They delivered the best experience I've had across 3 New York hotels I stayed on this trip, and the others were no walk overs either! While there may be better locations, the quality of service makes this hotel a top choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and sharing all the great comments you had about our Staff. I will definitely share your feedback with them. I do believe we have amazing people working for us and one of the best teams in New York. We take great pride in trying to always exceed our guests' expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have Traveled to NY the past 4 years and I can honestlt say, that this was my best choice yo date. It is close to everything I wanted to do. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the Bistro was a little pricey but the food was great. The price was decent,the rooms are small, very clean but I was there to sleep, not hang out in the room. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshebia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
It is a great compliment that you chose our hotel as your favorite hotel over many others that you visited in New York. We take great pride in providing the best service for our guests. I will share your comments with our Staff to let them know they did a great job. Thank you again for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a Marriott reward member I always first check for a Marriott property when traveling. Price is always a determining factor and This hotel offered a fantastic nightly rate considering the time of year, the staff was fantastic as always and the location is well situated, an easy walk to Time Square and Penn Station. We had a standard king room and the room was quite tight but not so much that it caused a problem. The bathroom was fantastic offering a large shower and a nice vanity counter with storage below. All and all another fantastic Marriott property in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisedirector55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for being a Marriott Rewards member and being a loyal customer to Marriott. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and our staff took care of all your needs. I will share your feed back with them to let them know, they are doing an excellent job. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very close to Penn Station. Easy to get to with a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby. The rooms and the building are very nice. The staff is friendly and the lobby has convince items for purchase if needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitronic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and taking the time to share your great experience on Trip Advisor. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing excellent service for all of our guests. I will share your feedback with them. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing