We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Werrington NSW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal for us”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We found this hotel perfect for our family. We had 3 rooms-2 connecting. Location was great as we could walk to Times Square, Broadway, Macy's and many city icons. Penn subway and Amtrak stations were walking distance too. Hotel foyer is simple but ample. There is a snack bistro/bar and small convenience 'shop'. The laundry is nice and clean-you need a good supply of quarters for the machines(you can purchase coins from front desk).
Rooms are not big but are very comfortable and clean. Loved having a bath and the shower worked well too. This hotel is very reasonably priced because it is off 8th Avenue-not the high end of town. There were the usual bustling city noises but they didn't bother us or disturb our sleep! Staff were friendly and helpful. We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and booking 3 rooms for you and your family. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you would return to our property on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Apple.


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    404
    71
    18
    20
See reviews for
322
321
53
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

So happy that I chose this hotel for my New York stay with my 12 year old daughter and her friend!! Conveniently located.....comfortable walking distance to all subway lines, Times Square and Broadway!! Service was impeccable....rooms were large, comfortable and spotless!! The staff was amazing...friendly, professional and very helpful. Special thank you to Amir the Bellman. We will definitely be staying here on all future visits!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinggemini1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are happy to hear you, your daughter and her friend had a great stay with us. We try to have all of our guests feel like they are at home while staying at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Thank you for the great comments regarding our Staff and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from a weekend in NYC with my daughter and granddaughter. The city was packed with visitors for the Solstice weekend. But, we were lucky enough to have a comfy room at this Courtyard. Just a short distance from Times Square and the Theater District, our room was impeccably arranged. The crisp bedding and sparkling bathroom made us feel right at home. But, the people MADE the visit memorable. The smiling desk clerks, helpful bellmen and café workers ALL made our stay so pleasant. We sighed with relief as we made our way back to our room--after a busy day in the city. A great restaurant recommendation (La Tavola), came from the bellman. Our early breakfast on Sunday (in the café) was delicious. We left the hotel smiling from ear to ear. In a city where everything is expensive or over-priced--our hotel was a great value. Thanks Courtyard. We hope to come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor (facing 37th ST) We had no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are glad to hear you and your granddaughter had a great stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing outstanding service to all our guests. I will definitely share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Apple.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
255 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotell and the staff! Its only one year old and looks fresh and new. Staff was great. Also the price was okay.

Recommended as a Times Square budget option even though its really not ON Times Square.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank enurweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for mentioning our excellent staff. We take great pride in providing the best possible service for all our guests here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I will definitely share your feedback with all of our Associates. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed at the Courtyard for five nights and loved being so close to everything. We were grateful that is was actually located a short walk away from all the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Every member of the Courtyard team was gracious, engaging, professional and quite helpful. The food in the bistro was also a pleasant surprise. Please note, the rooms are quite small. The refrigerator is tiny and there is no in-room microwave. I started most days with a big Starbucks coffee, yogurt parfait or pastry from the bistro, all of which were great. One minor challenge was getting cabs to drop off and pick up at the hotel. Upon check out, we were able to get a staff member to hail a cab but the rest of the time we were directed to 8th or 9th street. There is also a transit center a couple blocks away and it has a manned taxi queue. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sleeple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for your stay with your daughter. We are happy to hear you enjoyed amenities and services of the hotel. Many of our guests do mention they like our location because it is away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square yet we are only a 10 minute walk to this area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My only criticism is this hotel isn't really a Times Square Hotel. It is within walking distance and I should have done a better job looking at exact location. Everything is very nice at hotel and staff is great. Just don't be fooled by them calling it a Times Square hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott. Although we are not located directly at Times Square, we are just west and only a 10 minute walk to Times Square. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week in May for our first trip to New York. Very clean, friendly staff, nice rooms . The only 2 negatives -- wasn't keen on the location would have much preferred to stay between times Sq and Central Park rather than the opposite end. Also there's an outdoor area at the bar however your not allowed to smoke?! Which means you have to walk right through the hotel to the main front door and stand on the road to have a cigarette and again the area isn't the best so that's the only thing we could knock! Would recommend a non-smoker who isn't bothered about location to stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren_84x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. Please accept our apologies on the limitations of our smoking areas. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing