We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option when requiring 2 large beds in one room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #142 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good option when requiring 2 large beds in one room”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The reasons I chose this hotel were the good location, and the reasonable price for a room that offered two queen sized beds (I was sharing with my Mum). And we had a very good 4 night stay. Friendly staff (James and Kevin were particularly helpful, but all the staff were). I always make a decision on the room when I open the door - is it below expectations or does it match or exceed expectations? When I opened the door I was immediately happy - a nice large clean room. We were only on the 5th floor so didn't have great views but then we didn't spend much time in the room. Good to have an in-room safe amongst the room amenities. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJBSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the room and amenities of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    413
    75
    21
    20
See reviews for
332
329
57
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was situated in a handy part of town but a very busy area.
After the first night sleeping at the hotel in room 416 we woke up with bed bugs in our bed.
We told the front desk personnel and they assured us that they would change all the bedding and the problem would be resolved. Only apologies were offered by the hotel management and we accepted them in good faith. However a few days later we woke up with bugs in the bed again as well as blood from where we had slept on them.
We also both had rashes up our arms.
I had bought new makeup which I thought had made me break out but on looking back I believe it was from the bugs as back home in Australia I tried the cosmetics again and had no reaction.
We reported the second bed bug attack at 7.20 am and we asked that the clothes in the wardrobe be cleaned.a young person -the director of housekeeping - came to look at the problem and said it would all be cleaned but being a Saturday it would be hard to find a dry-cleaner and we were handed money and washing powder to put into the washing machine to wash our own clothes. Having completed all our washing and ironing the day before we were not prepared to do it ourselves again and they finally put it in the washing machine and dryer. Of course, if there were any bed bug eggs they too would have gone into the washing machine. As the day progressed so did the attitude of the hotel management they now refuse to iron the washed and dried clothes which we had to do.
It took till after 2 pm in the afternoon to get established that they would be able to get our things dry cleaned and washed and we were moved to the 25 th floor.
On this day we were to go to a friend's daughters graduation party for gaining her Masters degree but because of the time taken to work out details and no clothes to wear, we were too late to go. We had come all the way from Australia so we could go and we were unable to get there, very disappointing.

There were other problems with a car service that was booked for us, that took a week to resolve.
The other thing we found strange was that there was no real restaurant- only a cafeteria.

After the second bed bug incident we emailed our travel agent with a copy to both the hotel sales manager and guess service manager stating our problem and to date no response has been received from the hotel management. I am very disappointed with the lack of response from such a well known hotel chain. It appears they are simply not interested. I have no reason to ever return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BOges0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered with the bed bugs in your room and the problem you had with car service to your destination in Brooklyn. I am sorry for the delay in responding to your concerns. I understand you reported these issues to Assistant Manager who changed your room, had all your clothing laundered and dry cleaned and took care of your return transportation to the airport. We did put the room out of service, did an investigation for evidence of bed bugs, and had the room treated by an Exterminator for 3 days. Since our hotel opening in May of last year, we have never had an issue with bed bugs brought into our hotel. With a transient hotel such as ours in New York, bed bugs can be brought in by other guests. This issue was also brought up to our Executive Housekeeper and their entire staff to improve their inspections of the rooms, so this does not occur again. Again, please accept our apologies and if I can be of further assistance, please let me know.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this very nice hotel with my family last week for five days. Had a great time,great location,rooms clean,staff friendly and helpfull UNTIL i decided to use their concierge services to book my airport transfer. The lady ( Maria) appeared very professional and friendly throughout the booking process so at no point i felt the need to question her job and check the receipt. DO NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE!! I wanted pick up at 4:35AM instead she booked it 4:35PM leaving myself and my family ( four ladies) and seven heavy bags with no transportation,no refund, in the street trying to get two taxis, for which I had to now find extra cash to pay for,desperately trying to get to the airport on time and not miss my flight back to the UK. Needless to say that my great time at this hotel finished in a very stressful manner.
What if I had spent all my holiday cash?? How would i pay for the taxis when the hotel refused to give a refund ??
Worse still, after various phone call attempts and an email to the manager,still no reply at all.
Clearly it seems that after you leave the premises they don`t care.
I don`t honestly expect them to do the decent thing and refund my $155, all i want is that other guests don`t trust them the way i did.

Regards

David M.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered, when our Concierge booked the wrong time for your car service. Once we were informed of the error, we immediately contacted the Concierge company to issue you a refund check and contact you directly for a mailing address to send you the check. You should be receiving the refund check in the mail soon. If you do not receive the check within the next week, please let me know, so I can follow up with our Concierge services. Again, we apologize for the error, if there is anything else I can do, please let me know.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Could not fault this hotel. Rooms we're clean (although very small) and well stocked. Real comfortable beds too. Stayed on 10th floor near the lifts and had no noise problems. Lifts were quick enough and didn't hear any street noise at all from our room. Every staff member we encountered was extremely pleasant and helpful. We found it a good location to walk to a Times Square, the Port bus Authority, Penn Station and Subway close too. Found lots of great restaurants in 9th Street which was an easy walk. Actually felt very safe on public transport and walking around day and at night, but didn't use the subway after dark. Price for hotel wasn't cheap but found it hard to get room with 2 queen beds for family of four (2 over 6" tall) so this was the best one.
Read reviews prior to booking this and any other hotel on our US trip, and found no bad things about this NY one.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LANDCRUISER4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff and i take great pride in providing excellent service to all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werrington NSW
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We found this hotel perfect for our family. We had 3 rooms-2 connecting. Location was great as we could walk to Times Square, Broadway, Macy's and many city icons. Penn subway and Amtrak stations were walking distance too. Hotel foyer is simple but ample. There is a snack bistro/bar and small convenience 'shop'. The laundry is nice and clean-you need a good supply of quarters for the machines(you can purchase coins from front desk).
Rooms are not big but are very comfortable and clean. Loved having a bath and the shower worked well too. This hotel is very reasonably priced because it is off 8th Avenue-not the high end of town. There were the usual bustling city noises but they didn't bother us or disturb our sleep! Staff were friendly and helpful. We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and booking 3 rooms for you and your family. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you would return to our property on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Apple.


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

So happy that I chose this hotel for my New York stay with my 12 year old daughter and her friend!! Conveniently located.....comfortable walking distance to all subway lines, Times Square and Broadway!! Service was impeccable....rooms were large, comfortable and spotless!! The staff was amazing...friendly, professional and very helpful. Special thank you to Amir the Bellman. We will definitely be staying here on all future visits!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinggemini1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are happy to hear you, your daughter and her friend had a great stay with us. We try to have all of our guests feel like they are at home while staying at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Thank you for the great comments regarding our Staff and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from a weekend in NYC with my daughter and granddaughter. The city was packed with visitors for the Solstice weekend. But, we were lucky enough to have a comfy room at this Courtyard. Just a short distance from Times Square and the Theater District, our room was impeccably arranged. The crisp bedding and sparkling bathroom made us feel right at home. But, the people MADE the visit memorable. The smiling desk clerks, helpful bellmen and café workers ALL made our stay so pleasant. We sighed with relief as we made our way back to our room--after a busy day in the city. A great restaurant recommendation (La Tavola), came from the bellman. Our early breakfast on Sunday (in the café) was delicious. We left the hotel smiling from ear to ear. In a city where everything is expensive or over-priced--our hotel was a great value. Thanks Courtyard. We hope to come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor (facing 37th ST) We had no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are glad to hear you and your granddaughter had a great stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing outstanding service to all our guests. I will definitely share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Apple.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#229 of 467 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#115 of 467 in New York City
831 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#60 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 467 in New York City
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing