We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and awesome customer service!!! We will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome customer service!!! We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for us! Easy to find, close to the train and metro stations and a great price! Booking was easy and the staff was wonderful!! Adrian the bar tender was very friendly and informative as well as yelissa the hostess who helped us plan travel paths and organize trips!!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Contessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We do try to provide excellent service to all of our guests. Our goal is not only to meet but to exceed expectations of our guests. Thank you for the wonderful comments about Adrian, Yelissa and the rest of our staff. I will certainly share your feedback with them. Please let us know when you do return, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apples.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    391
    67
    18
    19
See reviews for
314
315
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The front desk lady is very nice. Is a nice swanky hotel. Very modern and updated BUT..when I booked I did especially because it said there was a sofa bed. Got here....I'm writing this from the room...no sofa bed. So the overall got a low score because the description is false. I even asked if there was a bigger room with a sofa bed and the nice lady said no. Otherwise every person I met that works here is awesome, extremely friendly and very professional! Seriously. I'd still start here again even though the sofa bed isn't here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graciecakes324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The reasons I chose this hotel were the good location, and the reasonable price for a room that offered two queen sized beds (I was sharing with my Mum). And we had a very good 4 night stay. Friendly staff (James and Kevin were particularly helpful, but all the staff were). I always make a decision on the room when I open the door - is it below expectations or does it match or exceed expectations? When I opened the door I was immediately happy - a nice large clean room. We were only on the 5th floor so didn't have great views but then we didn't spend much time in the room. Good to have an in-room safe amongst the room amenities. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJBSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the room and amenities of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was situated in a handy part of town but a very busy area.
After the first night sleeping at the hotel in room 416 we woke up with bed bugs in our bed.
We told the front desk personnel and they assured us that they would change all the bedding and the problem would be resolved. Only apologies were offered by the hotel management and we accepted them in good faith. However a few days later we woke up with bugs in the bed again as well as blood from where we had slept on them.
We also both had rashes up our arms.
I had bought new makeup which I thought had made me break out but on looking back I believe it was from the bugs as back home in Australia I tried the cosmetics again and had no reaction.
We reported the second bed bug attack at 7.20 am and we asked that the clothes in the wardrobe be cleaned.a young person -the director of housekeeping - came to look at the problem and said it would all be cleaned but being a Saturday it would be hard to find a dry-cleaner and we were handed money and washing powder to put into the washing machine to wash our own clothes. Having completed all our washing and ironing the day before we were not prepared to do it ourselves again and they finally put it in the washing machine and dryer. Of course, if there were any bed bug eggs they too would have gone into the washing machine. As the day progressed so did the attitude of the hotel management they now refuse to iron the washed and dried clothes which we had to do.
It took till after 2 pm in the afternoon to get established that they would be able to get our things dry cleaned and washed and we were moved to the 25 th floor.
On this day we were to go to a friend's daughters graduation party for gaining her Masters degree but because of the time taken to work out details and no clothes to wear, we were too late to go. We had come all the way from Australia so we could go and we were unable to get there, very disappointing.

There were other problems with a car service that was booked for us, that took a week to resolve.
The other thing we found strange was that there was no real restaurant- only a cafeteria.

After the second bed bug incident we emailed our travel agent with a copy to both the hotel sales manager and guess service manager stating our problem and to date no response has been received from the hotel management. I am very disappointed with the lack of response from such a well known hotel chain. It appears they are simply not interested. I have no reason to ever return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BOges0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered with the bed bugs in your room and the problem you had with car service to your destination in Brooklyn. I am sorry for the delay in responding to your concerns. I understand you reported these issues to Assistant Manager who changed your room, had all your clothing laundered and dry cleaned and took care of your return transportation to the airport. We did put the room out of service, did an investigation for evidence of bed bugs, and had the room treated by an Exterminator for 3 days. Since our hotel opening in May of last year, we have never had an issue with bed bugs brought into our hotel. With a transient hotel such as ours in New York, bed bugs can be brought in by other guests. This issue was also brought up to our Executive Housekeeper and their entire staff to improve their inspections of the rooms, so this does not occur again. Again, please accept our apologies and if I can be of further assistance, please let me know.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this very nice hotel with my family last week for five days. Had a great time,great location,rooms clean,staff friendly and helpfull UNTIL i decided to use their concierge services to book my airport transfer. The lady ( Maria) appeared very professional and friendly throughout the booking process so at no point i felt the need to question her job and check the receipt. DO NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE!! I wanted pick up at 4:35AM instead she booked it 4:35PM leaving myself and my family ( four ladies) and seven heavy bags with no transportation,no refund, in the street trying to get two taxis, for which I had to now find extra cash to pay for,desperately trying to get to the airport on time and not miss my flight back to the UK. Needless to say that my great time at this hotel finished in a very stressful manner.
What if I had spent all my holiday cash?? How would i pay for the taxis when the hotel refused to give a refund ??
Worse still, after various phone call attempts and an email to the manager,still no reply at all.
Clearly it seems that after you leave the premises they don`t care.
I don`t honestly expect them to do the decent thing and refund my $155, all i want is that other guests don`t trust them the way i did.

Regards

David M.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered, when our Concierge booked the wrong time for your car service. Once we were informed of the error, we immediately contacted the Concierge company to issue you a refund check and contact you directly for a mailing address to send you the check. You should be receiving the refund check in the mail soon. If you do not receive the check within the next week, please let me know, so I can follow up with our Concierge services. Again, we apologize for the error, if there is anything else I can do, please let me know.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Could not fault this hotel. Rooms we're clean (although very small) and well stocked. Real comfortable beds too. Stayed on 10th floor near the lifts and had no noise problems. Lifts were quick enough and didn't hear any street noise at all from our room. Every staff member we encountered was extremely pleasant and helpful. We found it a good location to walk to a Times Square, the Port bus Authority, Penn Station and Subway close too. Found lots of great restaurants in 9th Street which was an easy walk. Actually felt very safe on public transport and walking around day and at night, but didn't use the subway after dark. Price for hotel wasn't cheap but found it hard to get room with 2 queen beds for family of four (2 over 6" tall) so this was the best one.
Read reviews prior to booking this and any other hotel on our US trip, and found no bad things about this NY one.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LANDCRUISER4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff and i take great pride in providing excellent service to all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werrington NSW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We found this hotel perfect for our family. We had 3 rooms-2 connecting. Location was great as we could walk to Times Square, Broadway, Macy's and many city icons. Penn subway and Amtrak stations were walking distance too. Hotel foyer is simple but ample. There is a snack bistro/bar and small convenience 'shop'. The laundry is nice and clean-you need a good supply of quarters for the machines(you can purchase coins from front desk).
Rooms are not big but are very comfortable and clean. Loved having a bath and the shower worked well too. This hotel is very reasonably priced because it is off 8th Avenue-not the high end of town. There were the usual bustling city noises but they didn't bother us or disturb our sleep! Staff were friendly and helpful. We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and booking 3 rooms for you and your family. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you would return to our property on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Apple.


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing