We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why pay for Times Square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Why pay for Times Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lowest price time after time for a place to stay within blocks of Times Square. Safe area with an extraordinary staff. We have stayed here at least 3 times. The staff here is very accommodating and friendly. We have stayed at the Marquis around the corner several times at twice the cost and wonder when we did. Walking a few blocks let you save enough for a play or several great meals

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlackerBill137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
It is great to hear from a guest that has stayed with us serveral times. Thank you for being loyal to Marriott Courtyard Times Square West. We do often hear that guests rather stay here than in the middle of Times Square where it is crowded at much higher rates. I am glad to hear our Staff took care of all your needs and provided excellent friendly service. I will certainly share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Have a great weekend!

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    391
    67
    18
    19
See reviews for
314
315
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed at many hotels in NYC and many Marriotts in NYC and Boston. This was our least favorite Marriott and least favorite hotel yet in NYC. The location is far removed and the street is not nice - dirty, smelly, etc. Yes, we know Times Square is not the cleanest part of the city, but this location stinks. The hotel rooms were incredibly small and none of them offer any view at all - you are basically staring across at the buildings across the street or across the courtyard. The rooms are also very dark - bad choice in design for tiny hotel rooms with little natural light. The small cafe on the first floor charges outrageous prices - $6.25 for a little thing of cereal with no milk or banana - really?! We lived in NYC for 7 years and visit very often - but that is ridiculous. We will never stay here again. The only plus was the extremely helpful and nice gentlemen who helped us with our bags - Ryan you were great! There are lots of other hotels in NYC - find another one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgwirejeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for you feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations when we assigned you a room and the location of our hotel. We are centrally located within walking distance to Times Square and many of New York's famous attractions. Your feedback is valuable and important to us. We will share it with our Staff to improve in operations in meeting guest expectations in assigning rooms at upon arrival. Again, please accept our apologies, should you decide to return, please contact me directly so I can personally take care of your reservation.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I needed a room quickly as my reserved hotel did not allow bicycles, and Aribelys was super helpful. The room was great, and the location for me could not be beat. I would stay here again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David12211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear Aribelys provided excellent service in taking care your reservation. I will share your comments with her and the rest of our Staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wow..From Staff to Rooms..Awesome Great Rooms Comfortable Beds.large Bathroom all things not found in many NYC hotels! Staff wonderful from front desk to cafe to room attendants.....always a smile hello and help if needed..no nice to see.Shout to Ryan ion Doors very nice and helpful from transport to city tips..thx! Def be back on our next trip from Boston...cant wait!!

Room Tip: Dont think could go wrong with any room really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for mentioning the great service we provided in every department at our hotel, from Front Desk, Housekeeping, to our Restaurant Staff. We truly enjoy to see our guests happy during their stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a memorable stay and we look forward to seeing you again real soon. New York is a short trip from Boston.


Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you're looking for a well located hotel close to all the action but don't mind a relatively small room, by US standards anyway, look no further than this hotel. The staff are wonderful whether on the front desk, working the concierge or in the restaurant. It was wonderful to be able to walk everywhere or use the nearby subways without having to flag down taxis in NY's busy traffic. The restaurant serves a reasonable choice for breakfast, think Starbucks fare. Having free WiFi was an appreciated bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Our location is centrally located to transportation and many of New York's famous attractions. From our hotel, we are a walking distance to all these attractions. Thank you for the mention of our great staff. I do believe we have one of the best teams in New York. They are always going out of ther way to provide excellent service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We literally just checked out of the Courtyard Marriott TSW after a 3 night stay with 2 adults, 1 kid and 1 baby.

Our room was quite spacious (we had a 2 queen bed room) by NYC standards!! Plenty of room to walk around, set up the pack 'n play etc. Room was very clean, had a coffee maker, mini fridge.

Front desk staff and bellhops were super friendly and helpful.

We only used the hotel restaurant to grab coffee (they serve Starbucks).

Hotel is central to many NYC attractions. We were able to walk to Times Square, Central Park, etc.

Very very happy with our choice - will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square west for your family stay last October. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel, the amenities and the excellent service provided by our Staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.


Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Let me start by saying we had some concerns when it came to booking a hotel. We literally booked and cancelled numerous hotels prior to settling on this one. Finally with a little trepidation we chose this hotel for location purposes only. We were very wrong in our assessment. THIS HOTEL WAS GREAT. It has to be one of the best hotels in the city.
On a previous trip to NY we booked in NJ because of price and concerns of hotels in the city. We failed ourselves. the staff is second to none, the rooms, unlike a hotel we stayed in near WTC, were very spacious, and the sense of security was above comforting when we realized that you need a room keep to even access floors in the elevator.
We were WOW'd even more with the helpfulness and above and beyond assistance of Maria Natera, the concierge manager. she was always there to help and with more than just bookings, she offered advice, and personal knowledge of things we might enjoy as well as direction on traveling to these places.She also suggested great eateries and class A advice concerning other needs we had.
I could go on and on but I will end by saying, the only negative we found was that there are no microwaves in the rooms, only a community microwave located in the lobby, hidden away, small, and in need of cleaning....... badly. A bit of a downer when you have to get dressed and go down after a long day on the town. However, a meager price to pay considering all this hotel offers and the expert staff they maintain. A staff that greets you upon every entrance, every time, day or night. We are still reeling with excitement. Courtyard Marriott......... take a bow

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Wow, such great comments regarding our Concierge, Maria and the rest of our staff. We are glad after reviewing many hotels, you decided to choose the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We take great pride in providing excellent service that not only meets guest expectations, but to exceed them. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Prestigia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing