We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient - wish maps were better”
Review of Subway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Subway
Ranked #6,546 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Midtown
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So convenient - wish maps were better”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The system is easy to follow but the signs and maps need updating. Almost requires you to know the system well. Maybe there should also be a count down clock for next arriving train.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“GIVE IT A TRY”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I've always felt safe and comfortable on the subway, considering it the best way to travel long distances in the city. In fact it's the best way of getting from Manhattan into the Bronx, Brooklyn, or Queens as well as getting from Grand Central or Penn Station uptown, downtown, or even crosstown. Be sure to get a subway map that shows all the lines and their stops; ask directions - New Yorkers may be fast-moving and fast-speaking but inside they have warm hearts. Some stations are works of art that have been renovated; some have musicians serenading. Give it a whirl - just not at rush hour or 1 am.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SUBWAY BUT NOT FOR THE HANDICAPPED”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We traveled on the subway all over New York City on our trip there in October, 2013. I have a severe lower back problem and use a cane. The passengers were so courteous to me. I never had to stand on any of the numerous trips, and always someone would offer me a seat. However, there is literally no access for handicapped, and getting down the stairs and to the subway was very difficult for me. There are elevators in some places, but by the time you find them, you could struggle up the stairs. Still, it is a wonderful and efficient service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Subway all the Way!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Learn the 'ways of the subway' once you get to NYC. Great quick access to many areas and at $2.50 a ride, it's a deal. But bring your hand sanitizer and try not to touch the handles and railings!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Subway also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Subway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing