We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gripping story -- well acted.”
Review of Lucky Guy - CLOSED

Lucky Guy
Attraction details
Lyman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gripping story -- well acted.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Tom Hanks plays Mike Mcalary a tough New York Pulitzer prize-winning reporter, in a play written by the late Nora Ephron. He is impeccable in the part, but the rest of the cast are well known actors, with whom he interacts gracefully. Hanks was nominated for a Tony, but the Best Supporting Actor award quite rightly went to went to Courtney B. Vance for his scene stealing performance in this wonderful play. I’m glad we saw Lucky Guy before it closes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tom Hanks is AMAZING”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This play was very fast paced and a couple times it was hard to hear the actors, but Tom Hanks and Courtney B. Vance were so amazing. This is one of my favorite experiences ever!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wow - Tom Hanks in your Living Room”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Totally enjoyable play from start to end. Tom Hanks is amazing, supporting cast also excellent. Sitting in row D was just like having Hanks perform in our living room. Only 2 days left - should sell out - a must see!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hurry this cast is about to end.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

So glad I was able to witness this tremendous cast., many notable tv actors that i appreciate even more since I have seen them on stage. I knew I adored Tom Hanks before I saw the play, but know i see him as a true entertainer on Broadway as well. . He is hilarious, intense, energetic, engaging and as always so incredible believable as the character.
This true story is fascinating and i like the unique presentation with narration. I am so glad I had the opportunity to see this play and learn some insight in news room operations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevHarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Actors great, play not so much”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The cast and direction save what could have been a less than compelling offering. Hanks can surly add stage performance to his already impressive resume of acting excellence. However, if he were not in this production I could not recommend Lucky Guy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank motu49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Guy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing