We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, delicious food”
Review of Cafe Gitane

Cafe Gitane
Ranked #3,031 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Village
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, delicious food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived here on Easter afternoon, starving and fatigued. It was like entering a little bit of Paris--we sat, we restored ourselves over tea, coffee, and food and lingered. We got the vegetarian couscous--perfectly moist throughout and flavorful--a must have. Also the dukkah (disappointing) and the carrot salad (perfectly seasoned and a great contrast to the couscous). The staff are quirky, but attentive. There is an extensive menu, with meat and without, that I look forward to trying in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What I really loved was the atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had many chances to try the food of this little place as I was staying at the Jane Hotel nearby. It is a little place with a French feel, very good indie music playing round the clock, young smiling waiters and waitresses, small wooden tables.
Food is continentally-inspired, mostly French-inspired, especially at breakfast (please do try the continental breakfast if you're staying there, the tartine was amazing). As for the rest, at the beginning I thought it was a little pricey, but the portions are really abundant and you can have one of their sandwiches as a complete meal. They have a good choice of dishes which are mainly inspired by French cuisine, but with a Mediterranean touch.
Definitely recommended, even if you're not staying at the Jane.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Next best thing to being in Paris”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I only had a quick breakfast croissant and tea, but I loved the decor and was pleased with my server, both relaxed and attentive at the same time. They have a back room where you can store bags if you're on your way out of the hotel, as I was. The menu at Cafe Gitane looked interesting, but I always like French food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Worldlyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great baked sandwich!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We all had a baked egg sandwich. Tasted super. Great freshly pressed orange juice. An unbelievable pancake. I Recommed walking along the hudson in to town after.

Helpful?
Thank Mads O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool place, great menu”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great menu, and a great place to stop whether or not you are a guest at the hotel. Desserts are killer and the breakfast/brunch menu is great too

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_2485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gitane also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Gitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing