We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”
Review of Piccola Cucina

Piccola Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccola Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 13,735 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: SoHo
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

While staying in New York (Soho) for three days, found this restaurant by chance as it was close to our hotel. The food is excellent. It is a true Italian restaurant, run by Italians. There is so many Italian restaurants in NYC but most are run by Asians or other nationalities and are just not good enough. This is the real thing. We liked it so much that we ate there both nights of our stay and went for lunch at their second restaurant on Prince Street around the corner. My husband is Italian and got talking with the staff who were so helpful and very friendly. We found out that the chef comes from one of the top cooking school in Italy which explains a lot .... Each night, there were people queuing outside for a table when 3 or 4 restaurants next door/nearby were half empty. The price is about right and pretty good for NYC. Highly recommend this place but note that it is worth booking so you do not have a long wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vmdUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    180
    36
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy and quality restaurant”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Very good pasta selection, with some special dishes that I have not seen on offer in other restaurants in NYC. The wine list is pretty comprehensive too, and service is very friendly and attentive. They have a lunch special price of 10$ per dish. I was not surprised to see many other fellow italians among the patrons. Their cannoli are excellent, ricotta as it should be (cannot say the same for several other celebrated places in the city - I am Sicilian, so I should know ...). Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank anedonia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Cozy authentic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very attentive and friendly service. Excellent Italian food : busiate alla Norma - a must! Definitely to recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Villani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I Hate To Share This Review”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'm torn about sharing this review. It's such a fantastic restaurant and so small that sharing information about it might make it more difficult to get a table. The food is absolutely delicious. Everything is fresh. Everything is beautifully presented. Everything is homemade in a kitchen situated only a few steps away from your table. Dining in Piccola Cucina is like eating at home with a private chef. My wife and I enjoyed a romantic tenth anniversary dinner in this restaurant and I liked it so much that I returned to have dinner (unfortunately alone) when I was back in NYC on business. The wait staff is terrific as well. If you love Italian food this is the place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesglazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small is Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It had great reviews and when we arrived at this tiny restaurant we wondered!
Lovely welcome with a quick explanation of specials and advice on starters.
A selection of starters,then the tuna and a cod pasta for mains.
It was really excellent and served with calm and friendly smiles.
Amazing that such a small kitchen could produce such fresh and tasty food.
It's really worth the visit. You must book,cause it is small.
Enjoy. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 834Beauchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccola Cucina also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Piccola Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing